Six Marvel Shows I’d Rather Watch than Marvel’s Inhumans

Six Marvel Shows.jpg

The trailer for Marvel’s Inhumans series dropped today, and I must say I’m completely underwhelmed. From the first photos of the cast in costume, I’ve been dreading the release of this series. From the horrible red wig to the nondescript outfits, this show looks bland at best and downright awful if you’re being pessimistic. Take a look:

With the exception of Lockjaw, nothing in the trailer speaks to me. Instead, I find myself distracted by Ramsay Bolton as Maximus, THAT AWFUL WIG, and how mundane this Sci-Fi epic looks. I can’t say I’m completely surprised by my reaction. I may be in the minority, but I have a terrible time caring about the Inhumans plot-lines in Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.. When it comes to oppressed powered people, I prefer the X-Men, and it still grates on me that the Inhumans were such a big deal in the comics until recently (presumably because Disney, owner of Marvel comics, doesn’t have the film rights to those characters). I don’t really want more Inhumans-focused storylines–particularly in a show that doesn’t contain any of the recent, fan favorite Inhumans.

There are many ABC/Marvel shows I’d rather watch than this one. Some would contain Inhumans, but others would just be fun, adventure series that would pair perfectly with Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. at its best.

Six Marvel Shows I’d Rather Watch than Marvel’s Inhumans

ms-marvel.jpg

Ms. Marvel Unlike a lot of people, I’m not the hugest Ms. Marvel fan, but even I can acknowledge that this comic series is great for teenagers and could potentially make a fantastic show. If you want to make a show about Inhumans, why not spring for Lockjaw’s best friend instead of Woman-in-a-Horrible-Red-Wig and company?  

 

 

squirrel-girl.jpg

Squirrel Girl ~ Technically, there is going to be a Squirrel Girl show, BUT wouldn’t it be better if this series was an hour long dramedy rather than a half hour comedy? After Powerless, I question the wisdom in making half hour long superhero shows. It’s not that they are inherently bad. It’s just that I don’t know how many people will be drawn to watching comic book stories in that format. Squirrel Girl deserves more than half a season on a doomed comedy. Hopefully, she’ll get more than that, but I have my doubts.

 

moon-girl.jpg

Moon  Girl and Devil Dinosaur ~ If we’re going to get Lockjaw-level special effects in the Inhumans series, perhaps ABC and Marvel could have digitally created Devil Dinosaur instead. (I love you, Lockjaw. This isn’t about you. I swear.) In Season Four of Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D., there were definitely Moon Girl vibes coming from Mack’s Framework daughter, Hope. It made me wish they had let his daughter live so that she could have become Moon Girl–a definite candidate for a spin-off series.  

 

 

kate-bishop.jpg

Kate Bishop a.k.a. Hawkeye ~ Since we already have Clint Barton in the MCU, there couldn’t be any harm in bringing the other–arguably cooler–Hawkeye into the fold. Kate Bishop is amazing and it’d be fantastic to have her lead a show that could potentially expand to include the other members of the Young Avengers (much like Smallville grew to include the Justice League).

 

 

mockingbird.jpg

Mockingbird ~ Before Inhumans, Marvel tried to make a Bobbi Morse/Lance Hunter spin-off happen. It didn’t take–which I can’t say I’m sorry about. I adore Bobbi Morse, but Lane Hunter of Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. was one of my least favorite characters on that entire show. IF a show focusing on Bobbi and not her husband could happen (you know, maybe Lance could be fridged), it would be a blast–particularly if it was in the style of Chelsea Cain’s Mockingbird series.

 

agent-carter.jpg

Agent Carter ~ And finally, the wisest choice would have been just to renew Agent Carter. It wasn’t a perfect show, but it had so much going for it. The cast was brilliant. The fashion to die for. And the historical setting lent itself to exploring areas of the Marvel Universe that get overlooked by the films.  I mean, we didn’t even get to meet Tony’s mother!! That is a complete shame.

 

 

All this isn’t to say I won’t give Marvel’s Inhumans a chance. I’ll watch it in the hopes that it’ll be better than it looks in the trailer. I just wish Marvel and ABC would have taken a chance on another Marvel story–one that could have appealed to those who really just want to see their favorite, female heroes on the screen.

What Marvel Comic Series Would You Like to See On TV? Are You Excited About Marvel’s Inhumans?

Image Source: Goodreads

5 thoughts on “Six Marvel Shows I’d Rather Watch than Marvel’s Inhumans

  1. It was Ramsey Bolton’s accent that I found distracting!

    I am sort of excited for the show! But I would rather see the six you mentioned! I’m still not over the cancellation of Agent Carter or the non-starting of “Most Wanted” I loved Mockingbird and Hunter.

  2. Like, who asked for this show?? It’ll be really interesting to see how the IMAX screening of this does. I have no interest in watching this.

  3. I’m not too interested in this new show either. I like Agents of Shield, mostly because I like to so how everyone else is affected by what happens in the movies. I like that Shield has to deal with blowback. I do agree with you that they should have just renewed Agent Carter. I loved that show, and i like that since she didn’t start out in the comics they didn’t have to focus on keeping to a main lore story.

Leave a Reply

