Top Five Literary Classics on My TBR

Top Five.jpg

About once a year, I tackle a classic novel. In 2016, I reread Jane Eyre and in 2015, A Christmas Carol. While these rereads were pleasant enough, it’s a shame that it’s been several years since I attempted a new-to-me work of classic literature. The burnout from my years as an English Major are finally dissipating so, hopefully, in 2017, I can change that.

I don’t expect to read all the classics on my TBR, but I’d love to raise my count to two or three classics next year. It shouldn’t be too hard, especially since I’ve been longing to reread Persuasion for months.

Yes, I might even allow myself one more reread before the real work begins!

Top Five Literary Classics on My TBR   

Rob Roy by Sir Walter Scott ~ Ivanhoe is one of the most enthralling novels I read during the course of my English degree. I attribute that mostly to the fact that I pictured Richard Armitage (in his Robin Hood leathers) as Bois-Guilbert as I read it. Beyond that, I loved the swashbuckling, adventure of Ivanhoe. It’s a shock, really, that I haven’t picked up Rob Roy already.

Our Mutual Friend by Charles Dickens ~ Choosing one and only one Dickens novel to add to my TBR was difficult. There are several Dickens I’d like to read–Little Dorrit and Bleak House among them–but his books are too long for me not to narrow down my goal a bit. Our Mutual Friend caught my attention more than the others because (1.) I like the story and (2.) I can picture “Creepy Colonel Brandon” a.k.a. David Morrissey as Mr. Headstone as I read it.

Sylvia’s Lovers by Elizabeth Gaskell ~ I’ve read Gaskell’s Wives & Daughters, Cranford, and North & South. It’s about time I moved on from her books which have been adapted into miniseries and ventured into unknown territory. Sylvia’s Lovers is her take on historical fiction and I’m curious to see if it holds up to her more well-known novels.

Daniel Deronda by George Eliot ~ My relationship with Daniel Deronda is a fraught one. I’ve watched the miniseries twice, and I’ve come to realize there are few characters I loathe as much as Daniel Deronda. I want to read the novel because I’m curious if my hatred simply rests on Hugh Dancy’s version of the character or on the character himself.

Cecilia, or Memoirs of an Heiress by Frances Burney ~ I’ve read Frances Burney’s Evelina twice. It’s ridiculous and fun and weirdly addicting for a 500 page epistolary novel about a socially inept girl. Burney’s definitely the predecessor to Jane Austen–which means I need to get on with reading the other two novels of hers I own. Cecilia, an “usual love story and deft social satire,” according to Amazon, seems the best bet for my second venture into her oeuvre.  

Are there any classics you’ve been wanting to read?

3 thoughts on “Top Five Literary Classics on My TBR

  1. I really liked Daniel Deronda and don’t remember disliking his character. I haven’t read the others on your list but would like to read more Gaskell and Dickens. Enjoy your reading!

Leave a Reply

