Top Ten Authors I Read For The First Time In 2016

cookies.jpg

Joining in on The Broke and the Bookish’s Top Ten Tuesday yet again!

I don’t think I’m alone in saying 2016 was a remarkably stressful year. I had great expectations when it came to all the books I wanted to read. I had hoped to get through A Song of Ice and Fire, read diversely, catch up on series, and tackle non-fiction.

Most of that didn’t happen. Instead, I ended up rereading Harry Potter and diving into cozy mystery and fantasy series. With real life hanging over me, I wasn’t up for anything more challenging than that.

Somehow, I did manage to find some excellent new-to-me authors in-between all my rereading and catching up on YA. Most of these authors write mysteries, fantasy, and historical fiction so if you’re looking for nice, escapist reads, the authors on my list are definitely ones I’d recommend.   

Top Ten Authors I Read For The First Time In 2016

  •   K. B. Wagers ~ Behind the Throne was a surprise hit for me this year. I’d read awful Science Fiction novel after awful Science Fiction novel, but Wager’s space outlaw book pulled me in and I loved it. I’m especially excited to pick up the sequel, After the Throne, this month. I’m always happy to find a new author with a new series to look for to.
  • Susanna Clarke ~ This year was my year of gigantic Fantasy novels. Along with A Song of Ice and Fire, I finally tackled Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norrell. I adored it (even if the book dragged terribly in the middle), but even more so than Jonathan Strange, I loved Clarke’s book of fairy tales, The Ladies of Grace Adieu. I was so disappointed when I realized she hadn’t written any other books. I’m impatiently waiting for Book #3.
  • Anne Helen Petersen ~ With the demise of The Toast, I had to drown my sorrows in Anne Helen Petersen’s “Scandals of Classic Hollywood” series on The Hairpin. I read through most of the web-based essays before I finally picked up the book based off the series. It was fascinating to read about the classic film stars and the studio system. Next year, I want to read more about Hollywood and, hopefully, watch some new-to-me classic films too.
  • Kerry Greenwood ~ I discovered Miss Fisher’s Mysteries! Phryne Fisher is an amazing heroine and I cannot wait to continue with the series so I can take in all the sumptuous details of Phryne fashion and lifestyle.
  • Dorothy L. Sayers ~ Dorothy Sayers is one of those authors I can’t believe I hadn’t read before 2016. Her Lord Peter Wimsey books are just my sort of thing, and I’m only disappointed I wasn’t able to find any of her books at the last library book sale. They’re the perfect sort of cozy reads I like having on hand for bad days.
  • Amanda Grange ~ Amanda Grange writes the memoirs of Jane Austen’s heroes. I’ve added so many of her Austen books to my TBR after reading Edmund Bertram’s Diary earlier this year. I’m hoping to pick up to Captain Wentworth’s Diary soon. Of course, I might wait until I start my reread of Jane Austen’s novels next year.
  • Winston Graham ~ Ross Poldark was one of the best books I read this year. Unfortunately, I haven’t made it any further in the series (mostly because horrible Francis got on my nerves in Book Two). Next year, I’ll try to tackle Demelza and Jeremy Poldark. I’ve heard the series gets more frustrating as it goes on so we’ll see how much more I can manage.
  • Matthew Kneale ~ I found out about When We Were Romans from Jen Campbell’s Youtube channel. It’s a story of a parent’s mental illness told from the child’s point-of-view. It was a beautiful if heart-wrenching read and I loved it. Kneale has another book, English Passengers, with an even better rating on Goodreads. I definitely added it to my TBR. Another one to get to in 2017!
  • Virginia Woolf ~ I FINALLY read a book by Virginia Woolf. I choose A Room of One’s Own and it was one of those books where I started dog earing pages because there were so many good quotes. It was a dense, little book but so worth the read. I own Woolf’s Mrs. Dalloway and, while stream-of-conscious novels fill me with dread, I might read it anyway.
  • Morgan Matson ~ Morgan Matson wrote my “Summer-y” read, Since You’ve Been Gone. It’s been awhile since I’ve read Contemporary YA, but I thoroughly enjoyed this one. Matson’s written about three other books so if I need a Summer-y book next year I know which author to turn to.

Who is your favorite newly discovered author?

One thought on “Top Ten Authors I Read For The First Time In 2016

  1. Brynn Chapman. I loved her “The Violet Hour”. I have her new book on my TBR pile and I’m going out on a limb liking an author on the basis of one book, but Violet Hour was like that for me.

Leave a Reply

