{Top Ten Tuesday} Ten Books Recently Added to My TBR

Wine.jpg

It’s been awhile but I’m actually joining in on The Broke and The Bookish‘s Top Ten Tuesday this week.

I’ve discovered one of the bonuses of working at a library is that the librarians let you look at through their Publisher’s Weekly and Booklist catalogues. I say “bonuses,” but I guess that depends on how long my to-read list gets in the future. For now, it’s manageable–only ninety-one books according to Goodreads.

Ninety-one might seem like a lot (not to most book bloggers, I suppose, but to some people) but, knowing me, ninety-one books will be culled down to twenty once I actually start reading what’s on my TBR.

My reading taste can be finicky, and I drop books for no better reason that sentence length annoying me.

sct0nr.gif

The books on this list will hopefully be lucky ones that get read. I’m certainly excited to give them a chance.

Top Ten Books I’ve Added to My TBR Lately

tbr-book-list.jpg

Wintersong by S. Jae-Jones ~ Wintersong is a YA novel with more than a little in common with a certain film called Labyrinth. Obviously, I’ve been dying to read this book ever since I heard it included a Goblin King. *Dance, Magic Dance!*

Carve the Mark by Veronica Roth ~ I couldn’t finish the Divergent series. I just couldn’t. That doesn’t mean I’m not interested in trying Veronica Roth’s newest novel. It’s a political drama with space and superpowers. Definitely sounds up my alley.

The Gilded Cage by Vic James ~ When someone describes a fantasy novel as being similar to Downton Abbey, you know it’ll be high on my list of to-reads. The Gilded Cage is deals with class conflict and magic. I’m hoping it has more than a little in common with Zen Cho’s Sorcerer to the Crown.

Cordelia’s Honor by Lois McMaster Bujold ~ I’ve been meaning to read the Vorkosigan Saga forever. I even started Cordelia’s Honor once years ago but never got far in it. The first book in the saga just made it back onto my to-read list because I decided that I’m going to finally try to tackle the series. It’s so popular. I want to know if I like it or not.

Crosstalk by Connie Willis ~ To Say Nothing of the Dog is one of my favorite Science Fiction novels of all time so when I found out Connie Willis had a new book–not in her Oxford Time Travel series–coming out, I figured it was about time I branched out and read her other work.

tbr-booklist-2

All the Birds in the Sky by Charlie Jane Anders ~ I’m a fan of Charlie Jane Anders articles on io9. While novels aren’t exactly the same thing as website posts, I’m excited to try her book about friends, magic, and science!

The Stars are Legion by Kameron Hurley ~ Somehow I’ve never read a book by Kameron Hurley. I’ve followed her on Twitter and read her articles, but I’ve never picked up an actual book by her (not even Geek Feminist Revolution!). The Stars are Legion sounds like a book I’ll enjoy–yet another book about space, politics, and a tough-as-nails heroine.

Half-Resurrection Blues by Daniel Jose Older ~ Urban Fantasy’s a genre I go back to when I feel the need for a quick, engaging read. Older’s Bone Rumba Street series is one of the more popular of the genre that I haven’t tried yet. I actually can’t believe it wasn’t on my TBR earlier.  

Summerlong by Peter S. Beagle ~ I adore Peter S. Beagle’s writing. I’ve only been putting off reading Summerlong so I can keep up with Science Fiction novels for SciFi Month. As soon as December hits, I’m diving it! (Truthfully, I don’t even know what this books is about, and I don’t care: It’s Peter S. Beagle.)

Across the Nightingale Floor by Lian Hern ~ One of my friends from work recommended this series to me. She said it was a fantasy which takes place in Japan, and that’s really all I needed to know.

What Books Have You Recently Added to Your TBR?

Image Source: Goodreads & Gif Source: Brightest Young Things

One thought on “{Top Ten Tuesday} Ten Books Recently Added to My TBR

Leave a Reply

