{From My Shelves} Fall TBR

Hamilton Songs On Repeat (3).jpg

Somehow, I’ve managed to get over two thirds of the way through my reading goal this Summer. It was rough. As per usual, Summer was the season of reading slumps and depression. I’m hoping Fall will be better. I can usually get through more books once the weather turns cool and I finally feel up to relaxing afternoons with a cup of tea and my beloved electric blanket.

Meanwhile, I’m trying not to get my expectations up too high. I have some classics and nonfiction that I’d love to get through before the end of the year, but I’m not including them on this TBR because I don’t want to set myself up for failure. (I tried to get through The Mill on the Floss this Summer, but I just couldn’t do it–in spite of loving George Eliot’s writing.) Instead, I thought I’d pull books from my shelves that would help me complete my reading challenge, get me ready for a new Fall show, and just plain entertain me.

We’ll see how it goes.

From My Shelves: Fall TBR

  • Death by Darjeeling by Laura Childs ~ My easy book for the TBR! I always try to include at least one lightweight to keep myself from freaking out over all the heavy tomes on my list and Death by Darjeeling is that one for Fall. At the last library book sale, I grabbed a bunch of cozy mysteries–figuring I’d need to have some on hand for when I wasn’t feeling up to something denser. Most of the ones I picked were about books, tea, or cats–which just feels right to me.
  • The Name of the Rose by Umberto Eco ~ If I had to guess, I’d say I’ve owned The Name of the Rose for at least seven years. Most books that I’ve had that long and haven’t read have been culled from my shelves in the past year. For some reason, I held onto Eco’s novel. I’ve heard it’s fantastic so I really have no reason (besides how incredibly hefty it appears) to put off reading it any longer.
  • In Cold Blood by Truman Capote ~ For my Reading Challenge, I have to read one True Crime novel. True Crime is one of the few genres that I have absolutely no interest in so I figured I might as well stick with a classic. I’ve read Truman Capote before thanks to Breakfast at Tiffany’s (which is MUCH better than the film, by the way). I figure his foray into crime writing will be entertaining enough to allow me to check one more item off my Reading Challenge To-Do List.  
  • When Did You Last See Your Father by Blake Morrison ~ I’ve had this novel on my shelves forever. I bought it solely because David Nicholls wrote the screenplay for the adaptation–which, on reflection, seems like a weird reason to read a book written by a different author. Still, it’s a small book. It’s time I got through it and sent it back to the library.
  • Elizabeth the Queen by Sally Bedell Smith ~ The Crown premieres on Netflix on November 4th. To prep, I figured I might as well read a biography of the Queen. I’m not holding my breath that the book will be terribly interesting (I don’t expect a whole lot of trashyness), but I’m still curious about her thanks to watching the *almost* completely fictitious A Royal Night Out this Summer.

There are my five books. What are you planning to read this Fall?

Leave a Reply

