Fall Movies On My Must-See List

Hamilton Songs On Repeat (4).jpg

So far this year, I’ve seen a grand total of thirteen movies in the theater. I believe that’s a record high for me–even with how many times I went to The Fellowship of the Ring and various Disney movies in Junior High.

Thirteen might be an unlucky number, but I’m actually really proud of it. For years, anxiety’s completely messed with my movie-going enjoyment. (It’s hard to have fun watching a film when you’re in the middle of a panic attack.) This year, I figured my own form of exposure therapy would help me get over that, and by movie five or six, I realized my master plan was working.

I *may* have ended up seeing a few doozies (I nearly fell asleep during Pete’s Dragon), but it was worth it to get to the point where I’m look forward to seeing things on the big screen again.

To keep up this momentum (and keep myself from getting squirmish), I’ve made a list of all the movies I’m going to go see this Fall. Of course, you’ll all be able to guess what movies I’m really, really looking forward to (ahem, Rogue One), but I’m going to try to force myself a little outside my comfort zone with a weeper like Light Between Oceans (I can, at least, bribe myself with the likes of Fassy).   

Fall Movies On My Must-See List

Light Between Oceans (September 2nd) ~ Several years ago, I read the book during a single, long car ride. I don’t remember much about the novel other than the very basic plot–which probably means it wasn’t the greatest book of all time. Still, the trailers for the film look gorgeous (as does the cast). This will be my first time seeing Alicia Vikander in a film other than The Man from U.N.C.L.E.. Hopefully seeing her in something serious will give me the added gumption to watch Ex Machina . .finally.  

 

Bridget Jones’ Baby (September 16th) ~ I never expected Bridget Jones’ Diary to be one of my favorite films, but I’m incredibly partial to it. While Edge of Reason wasn’t the greatest sequel in the world (I remember very little of that film), I’m so looking forward the the third in the trilogy. I’m also pleased to see McDreamy returning to the RomCom circuit. Maybe a resurgence on his part could mean a sequel to Enchanted?  

 

The Magnificent Seven (September 23rd) ~ The Coen Brother’s True Grit is one of my favorite films of all time. Before that movie, I had a very low tolerance for Westerns. Slowly, though, I’m coming to appreciate the genre. (It helps, of course, that newly released Westerns have actors like Michael Fassbender and Chris Pratt in them.) Before the new Magnificent Seven is released I plan on watching The Seven Samurai and the original Magnificent Seven–which feels incredibly ambitious since both of those films are LONG.

 

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children (September 30th) ~Let me confess something: I really didn’t like the book this film is based on. Thankfully, the film appears to be COMPLETELY different from the source material. I’m rooting for Tim Burton to make a decent film out of this concept. I can’t say my expectations are high, but I’m going to give it a proper chance regardless.   

 

Arrival (November 11th) ~ I hate myself for still liking Jeremy Renner in films, but he and Amy Adams are completely selling me on Arrival. I love a good low-key Science Fiction film, but this is the first one in awhile that has a cast I can get on board with. Sorry, but if Matthew McConaughey, Matt Damon, or George Clooney are in space, I’m out.

 

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them (November 18th) ~ I wasn’t anticipating the release of Fantastic Beasts until Harry Potter and the Cursed Child was released. My enthusiasm for Harry Potter had been waning in recent years, but rereading the series and getting an 8th “book” has gotten me back in the Potterhead zone. Also, I really just want to see Colin Farrell as a wizard villain.

 

Moana (November 23rd) ~ Not the point of this movie, but I want Dwayne Johnson to be a Disney Prince. Someday, I hope it will happen, but until then I’ll be satisfied with him voicing a prominent character in Moana.

 

Rules Don’t Apply (November 23rd) ~ Actual Han Solo, Alden Ehrenreich, is in another film about old Hollywood. After Hail, Caesar, this isn’t a movie I’d pass up voluntarily. I know it won’t be as good as Hail, Caesar (no Charming Potato as a Gene Kelly-a-like), but it looks cute all the same. It’s also part of my old Hollywood to-watch list with Trumbo and The Magnificent.

Rogue One (December 16th) ~ I love Star Wars. I also loved Gareth Edwards’ Godzilla. There’s nothing about this movie that makes me think I won’t absolutely adore it. I’m just worried that by book shelves won’t have room for the inevitable Rogue One collectibles that I’ll be adding to my Star Wars collection.

Passengers (December 21st) ~ No trailer for Passengers yet, but a Science Fiction romance with Chris Pratt and Jennifer Lawrence is a must see. I hope it will have some humor to it and maybe a few shirtless scenes for Pratt. It’s about time I see Jennifer Lawrence in a film outside of the Hunger Games or X-Men franchises anyway.

 

What Films Are On Your Must-See List This Fall?

9 thoughts on “Fall Movies On My Must-See List

  1. I’m super excited about The Magnificent Seven and Arrival! I love Chris Pratt and Jeremy Renner, so it’s shaping up to be a great Fall!

  2. I will totally second that dream of Dwayne Johnson as a Disney prince, oh man. There are so many amazing films coming this fall, but I think my excitement for Rogue One tops them all – perfect holiday time gift!

  3. I’m really looking forward to Rogue One, Doctor Strange, Blair Witch, and the Assassin’s Creed movie. I’m tempted by The Light Between Oceans because I love Michael Fassbender and Rachel Weisz but I’ll probably watch it at home because I don’t need to break down and cry like a baby in public.

  4. So many of these are on my list too, especially Rogue One! I don’t get to go to the cinema too often because it’s so expensive, but I’ll make an exception for anything Star Wars.

Leave a Reply

