Graphic Novels on My TBR

Graphic Novels.jpg

I’ve been bad about reading comics this year. The only series I’ve followed in single issues are New Romancer, Venus, Green Arrow Rebirth (which just started), and Goldie Vance. Thankfully, with DC Rebirth happening this summer, there’s a lot of series I hope to add to my pull list. I know I’m at least going to try Batgirl, Batgirl and the Birds of Prey, Superwoman, Supergirl, Harley Quinn, Suicide Squad, and The Hellblazer. I’m crossing my fingers that half of those series are as good as Green Arrow. I need more superheroines and anti-heroes in my life.

As bad as I’ve been with single issues this year, I’ve been even worse with trades. I’ve read maybe eight volumes–which is really low for me (I read 35 last year). I probably wouldn’t even have made it to eight if it wasn’t for all those Star Wars series. I’m not even caught up on them. Maybe I’ll get to Vader Down before Rogue One is released.

In general, I think this lack of comics enthusiasm’s in part because I started associating comics with depression thanks to my binging of X-Men when I was feeling really, really low last year. I’ve been trying to read comics when I’m feeling okay in 2016 to break that correlation.

It’s working. Sort of.

I still catch myself saving up comics and graphic novels to read when I’m feeling bad. The way I figure I can best circumvent that is to read more comics. That way I don’t have to hoard them for bad days. There can be enough to go around on the good days too.

To see if my plan works, I’ve made a proper Graphic Novel to-read list. This way, when I’m wondering what series I should read next, I can just check my handy list.

comics-tbr.jpgGraphic Novels on My TBR

  • Romeo and/or Juliet by Ryan North ~ Choose-Your-Own-Shakespeare-Adventure by the writer of The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl? Yes, please!
  • Harley Quinn by Amanda Conner, Jimmy Palmiotti, Chad Hardin, Stephane Roux, Alex Sinclair, Paul Mounts ~ I’m very much looking forward to Margot Robbie as Harley in The Suicide Squad. Somehow though, I’ve never actually read any Harley-related comics. I need to remedy that before August, and I figured I’d start with The New 52 and move out from there.
  • Birds of Prey by Gail Simone, Ed Benes, Adriana Melo, and Alvin Lee ~ Gail Simone introduced me to the world of DC Comics with her Wonder Woman and Batgirl series. I haven’t ever picked up her Birds of Prey, but with the new Rebirth series coming out and me having Barbara Gordon withdraws, I figured now was as good of time as any to start it.  
  • Constantine: The Hellblazer by Ming Doyle and Riley Rossmo ~ I read the first issue of Constantine and loved it. I meant to keep buying it in single issues, but I sort of missed the second issue and never caught up.
  • Paper Girls by Brian K. Vaughn, Cliff Chiang, and Matthew Wilson ~ Unpopular Opinion: I don’t care for Brian K. Vaughn’s writing. I’ve heard that Paper Girls is sort of “The Goonies with Girls” so I’m going to give it a try anyways. The 80’s nerd in me wants to like it.  
  • Archie by Mark Waid, Fiona Staples, Annie Wu, and Veronica Fish ~ Time for another confession: I’ve never read any Archie comics in my entire life.  With Riverdale coming to the CW, I want to finally change that.
  • DC Bombshells by Marguerite Bennett and Marguerite Sauvage ~ I read the first issue of DC Bombshells and it just didn’t capture my attention. I love the art though and I’m going to give it a proper chance now that it’s in trade.  
  • Black Canary by Brenden Fletcher, Annie Wu, Pia Guerra, and Sandy Jarrell ~ The only thing I liked about the new Batgirl run was Black Canary. From what I remember, she was grumpy and all around lovable. Since I’m also adoring the character in Green Arrow Rebirth, I want to go back and read through her solo series. After that I might try to track down the Black Canary and Zatanna series too.
  • Power Up by Kate Leth and Matt Cummings ~ I know I can always rely on Kate Leth for a fun read. I haven’t read any Power Up yet, but it looks pretty adorable. (Released June 28th!)
  • Captain Marvel by Kelly Sue DeConnick, Dexter Soy, Emma Rios, Richard Elson, Karel Kesel, and Al Barrionuevo ~ I’ve read the first volume in DeConnick’s Captain Marvel before, but I didn’t like it (I actually gave it one star on Goodreads). Recently, I decided to try Captain Marvel and the Carol Corps and I really, really liked it. It’s about time I gave this series another chance.  

What comics are you loving right now? Anything good on your TBR?

6 thoughts on “Graphic Novels on My TBR

  1. If you’re an Archie newbie, I’d recommend starting with the traditional double digest comics you can find at drugstores and grocery stores. The new graphic novel series that debuted last year is alright, but not the greatest. It’s not as fun as the traditional comics are so you may not enjoy the new ones as much.

  2. I’d like to check out Hellcat by Kate Leth but just haven’t gotten around to it. I need to pick up the rest of the Preacher series too!

  3. I really want to check out Romeo and/or Juliet for definite!

    I’m actually just about to start Seconds by Bryan Lee O’Malley which I can’t wait for. Don’t actually know much about it but that’s how I like to keep it.

    chloreads.blogspot.co.uk 💙💙

  4. Interesting list! I’m not reading any comics at the moment but I am waiting for the first volume of the new Doctor Strange series to hit paperback; I know next to nothing about the character but his abilities sound interesting. I really should catch up on some series I had started…

  5. That Ryan North Romeo and/or Juliet sounds great and hilarious. Will need to try to find it at MTL Comiccon this weekend. I really liked Paper Girls, although I am a Brian K. Vaughan fan, but the mix of girls, 80’s and sci-fi was really fun and I can’t wait to see where they go with it.

Leave a Reply

