Mystery Mini Monday

Mystery

I don’t know about you, but I get a vicarious thrill watching others open subscription boxes. They aren’t something I indulge in very often so it’s fun to watch others get so much enjoyment out of them. I’d love to be able to do unboxing videos myself someday, but until I have a decent camera and extra cash, that’s not going to happen. What I can do, though, is the occasional Mystery Mini Unboxing.

It’s been awhile since I’ve written anything about my Funko collection (and that’s probably for the best since my DC Comics and Star Wars sets have grown exponentially), but I was just in the mood to open a Mystery Mini with you all. I thought Mystery Mini Monday could be a fun new feature to add to Readerly Geek. Obviously, it won’t be a weekly sort of thing, but every once and awhile when the collector bug bites, I thought it’d be a neat, little thing to do.

For my inaugural Mystery Mini Monday, I’m opening a Disney Princess box.  

mystery-mini-2.jpg

In case you can’t see the back, the possibilities with this particular box are Cinderella, Gus Gus, Ariel, Flounder, Belle, Cogsworth, Anna, Olaf, Elsa, Snowgy, Tiana, Naveen as a Frog, Jasmine, Raja, Merida, and one of her bear brothers (not to be confused with Brother Bear). Really, there are no bad options when it comes to these Mystery Minis. I already have Merida, Cogsworth, and Pocahontas (who’s a Hot Topic Exclusive along with Mulan), and I absolutely adore them. Size-wise, they’re not tons smaller than an actual Funko Pop so it doesn’t seem absurd to pay $7.99 for one. The new Mystery Mini designs in general are all around so much more adorable and intricate than their predecessors that I find it hard not to want to add tons of them to my collection. (I try to resist the urge, but obviously, you have to give in every once and awhile.)

If I had to choose which figure I’d most like to open today, it’d have to be Belle. Since I already have Cogsworth, it would be nifty to have a Belle to go with him. Beyond that, Belle’s my favorite princess in this set. I mean, Mulan’s my favorite overall, but as she’s not an option, Belle, of course would do.

Okay, time for the opening. . .

mystery-mini-ariel.jpg

Oh my gosh! It’s Ariel! I don’t have a single The Little Mermaid-related figure, so it’s definitely amazing to add one to my collection. I already know where she’s going to go on my shelf–right between Elizabeth Swan and Captain Hook from Once Upon a Time. My pirates needed a friend on their ship. . .I mean, shelf.

She’s such a cute figure. I love her swooshy hair and little tail. The paint on her isn’t 100% perfect, but for me, as long as her face looks nice (which is does), I can handle a little smudging on her tail. I’ll definitely have to think about buying another one of these in the future since I still don’t have Belle or Mulan. Maybe, next time, I splurge further and buy one at Hot Topic.

Actually, if you’d like to help me out, you can vote on which Mystery Mini box I should buy for my next Mystery Mini Monday. I’d love to say I’ll be unboxing one of the new Harry Potter Mystery Minis next time, but since who knows when they’ll actually show up in the stores, I’ll hedge my bets. 

Thanks for voting if you did!

What Mystery Minis (or mystery boxes in general) have you purchased lately? 

10 thoughts on “Mystery Mini Monday

  1. These things are so damn cute! I love your idea of unknowing these every so often 😆

    I voted for zootopia for your next unboxing☺️ Look forward to it!! X

Leave a Reply

