Stream It! {June Edition}

Stream It! (2).jpg

The entire month of May, I struggled to find my next show to binge, and you know what? I wasn’t successful! To keep myself busy, I’ve been knitting and watching Vicar of Dibley–which is charming but not the sort of show I can really get into in a fangirl sort of way. I’ve been *thinking* about trying Orphan Black, The Walking Dead, or Miss Fisher’s Mysteries again, but seeing as I never made it past the pilots of any of those shows, I’m sort of reticent about giving them another go.

I get sort of listless without a TV show to watch so I’ll have to make a decision soon. If anyone has a lesser known show that they’d recommend or reasons I should give the shows above another chance, definitely comment! I’m obviously in need of a little help.

If you’re struggling with ideas of things to watch too, I’ve got some “Stream It” recommendations for the month.

And, by the way, I seriously hope I can avoid the “Steam It!” mishap from May in the future. It was a special sort of typo, that’s for sure!  

Stream It!

  • The Paradise ~ Last Spring, my mom and I watched through The Paradise and were equally in love with it and frustrated by it. The show is about about a country girl–with ambitions–coming to town to work in a shop. The first season is absolutely fantastic in a sweet, cozy sort of way, but the second season goes off the rails. I’d still recommend watching it all the way through, but once you hit the Series Two, you MUST read Telly Vision’s recaps. They’ll greatly increase your enjoyment. I guarantee it.  
  • Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. ~ AoS is one of those shows that I don’t bother to watch live. I mean, it’d be a shame to waste such a good binge-watch show on week-to-week viewing. Thankfully, Netflix releases the seasons quickly after they wrap up for the year. The third season will be out mid-June so, if you’re like me and need to catch up, this is your time!
  • Leading Lady ~ I mentioned this movie in my Monthly Round-Up, but I wanted to give it a proper shout-out. The film’s about a young actress who REALLY wants a role in her director boyfriend’s upcoming movie. To prepare, she travels to South Africa where she meets a hunky farmer and stages a play version of the film. The movie is just adorable and quirky. If you have seen Not Another Happy Ending with Karen Gillan and liked it, Leading Lady will be just your cup of tea.
  • About a Boy (TV Series) ~ I’ve read Nick Hornby’s About a Boy, but I’ve never seen the film. Instead, I fell in love with the TV show–which not enough people seemed to appreciate. It’s a cute, feel-good show that features an absolutely hilarious Minnie Driver. The first couple episodes are rough, but once the show realizes it’s actors’ strengths and weakness, it pulls together into a really great sitcom.
  • One Day ~ With Me Before You coming out this month, it’s only right to draw attention to the better weepy, British film. While I 100% believe that Anne Hathaway was miscast as Emma, the movie itself does a good job at keeping to the essence of the book. Besides, Jim Sturgess is the perfect Dex. It’s worth a watch just for him!

Honorable Mention: The entire series of Happy Endings is on Hulu Plus. If you like pop culture jokes and manic dialogue, watch it now!

What have you been streaming lately?

8 thoughts on “Stream It! {June Edition}

  1. I’ve been absolutely addicted to Vikings for the past month. I’m on S3 right now and I freaking LOVE it! I would highly recommend that show if you’re into history, fantasy and great character development.

    I grew up watching Vicar of Dibley! It’s one of my all-time favourite Britcoms ❤

  2. You are right about AoS, I tried watching it weekly and it is definitely a show to binge watch.
    My plan for this month is to re-watching Game of Thrones!

  3. I really want to get into Agents of SHIELD. I liked the pilot but I got a bit bored with the second and third episodes. I keep meaning to get back into it! Right now I’m binge watching Gotham and once I got to episode 6 I fell in love!

  4. I cannot wait for Gotham season 2 to hit Netflix in Canada. Sadly no Agents of Shield for us up north. Yet.

Leave a Reply

