Stream It! {May Edition}

Stream It! (1).jpg

I’m sorry I’ve been missing in action since April. I needed to take a bit of mental health break. Unfortunately, that need for a break means I haven’t finished The Silmarillion yet. Instead, I spent a decent amount of April binge-watching Arrested Development and Disney films since I didn’t feel up to much else.

Obviously, I’ve been getting a lot of use out of my Netflix subscription between these binges and rewatching Lost (don’t even get me started on that show), and that reminded me that I’ve been wanting to do “Stream It!” recommendations for awhile.

Once a month, for here on out, I’ll try pick out five (or so) TV shows, films, etc. that I love and think you should watch (or even rewatch). They won’t always be new releases, but that doesn’t matter since there’s a decent amount of buried treasure hiding in Neflix’s categories.    

Oh and one more thing, thanks for sticking with me through my break! I try to blog consistently, but it can be hard when I’m not feeling mentally up-to-par. *Hopefully,* I won’t need another long hiatus for awhile.

Stream It! {May Edition}

  • Beauty and the Beast (CW TV Show) ~ With Rookie Blue and Under the Dome cancelled, my Summer TV viewing has been robbed of almost all it’s melodrama. Thankfully, there’s still one season of Beauty and the Beast left to keep me entertained. If you’ve somehow missed this wack-a-doo Dark Angel ripoff,  the first two seasons are on Netflix. This show will be perfect for you if you are either a hopeless romantic or someone who is endlessly entertained by over-the-top romantic adventure stories. Watch the first two seasons (and part of the third on Hulu Plus) before the fourth airs in June! 
  • The Great British Baking Show ~ If you somehow haven’t watched this masterpiece, you need to. Now! It’s sad to me that so many of the seasons aren’t available to stream in the U.S., but at least, PBS airs them eventually. Hopefully, a new season will come out this fall.
  • Bride and Prejudice ~ Winter is the season for Charles Dickens. Fall is for the Brontes. And spring is the perfect time of year to binge Jane Austen adaptations. One of my absolute favorites is Bride and Prejudice–a Bollywood adaptation of Pride and Prejudice. If you’ve ever wanted to see Sayid from Lost dance, this is the movie for you. 
  • Begin Again ~ I never liked Keira Knightley as an actor until I started watching her in non-period piece films. Most recently, I’ve loved her in Laggies and Begin Again. Begin Again, so you know, is about struggling musicians and it features Keira Knightley in an enviable wardrobe and Adam Levine acting (which is something that all people need to see because it’s weird). The movie’s sweet and filled with decent music. It’s also by the same fellow who did Once–so it has a respectable pedigree.
  • World of Tomorrow ~ It irks me that World of Tomorrow didn’t win best animated short film at this year’s Academy Awards. It was my favorite because it was funny and bizarre and not sentimental. It’s seventeen minutes long and I won’t spoil what it’s about. Just watch the weirdness unfold. It’ll be worth it.

Honorable Mention: If you have Hulu Plus, now’s a good time to watch/rewatch Wayward Pines. That bonkers show is coming back May 25th.

Have you streamed anything good lately?

9 thoughts on “Stream It! {May Edition}

  1. I’ve got to admit I preferred the original ‘Beauty and the Beast’ TV series, with Ron Perleman and Linda Hamilton.

    I never did get through the Silmarillion (I checked the spelling, and all it could suggest was millionairess) 😉 and I love Lord of the Rings.

  2. Welcome back!

    FYI you wrote “Steam It!” a couple times in this post – and that got me laughing 😛

    I’ve been watching Black Books on Netflix lately. I think I’m going to give Bride & Prejudice a try too since I’ve heard nothing but great things about it from people who’ve watched it!

    1. LOL! I knew I was going to mess up with that! When it was still a draft, I caught “Steam It!” in the title even. (Thanks, by the way, I fixed it.)

      I’ve watched an episode or two of Black Books. I feel like it’s a show I should really like. I just haven’t stuck with it. I definitely need to try it again.

  3. I didn’t realize Wayward Pines was getting a second season! I thought it was just going to be a one season thing. That ending killed me so I’m not sure if I’ll keep watching or not!

    1. Yes, it got a second season! I’ve been trying to avoid any spoilers so I don’t know if it directly follows the first season or if it’s a completely unrelated story. Either way, I’m pretty excited for the new season to start.

Leave a Reply

