My Free Comic Book Day Wish List

ine

Last year was my first Free Comic Book Day. Unfortunately, I worked in the middle of the day so I didn’t end up joining properly in the festivities. I did still manage to run to my local comic shop and Books-a-Million and ended up with a rather large pile of comics that I slowly worked my way through over the summer.

Needless to say, it was awesome.

This year, I’ll be working again. Thankfully, my new comic shop is a block and half from where I work. I’ll be running there on my lunch break and, hopefully, they won’t be completely out of everything. I may have to have my mom be my back-up comic spotter–just in case.

To prep for May 7th, this year’s date, I went through the list of comics coming out and picked my top choices. There’s a lot of really neat stuff being released, and I can’t wait to have an even more ridiculous backlog of comics after the day.

My Free Comic Book Day Wish List 

ncbd-collage

Boom Studios 2016 Summer Blast ~ Boom Studios is one of my favorite comics publishers, but all I really need to know about this sampler is that it includes a Labyrinth short story. *Grabby hands*

Doctor Who: Four Doctors ~ I first got into buying single issues thanks to Doctor Who. I’m not completely up on these series anymore, but I’m always ready for more stories about the 9th and 10th Doctor.

Civil War II ~ I don’t love events, but last year, I liked picking up the Secret Wars preview on Free Comic Book Day so I’d, at least, have a basis for what was going on if I wanted to purchase some of the series. We’ll see if anything in Civil War II catches my interest this year!

Captain America ~ Captain America is my least favorite Avenger, but–weirdly–Captain America: The Winter Soldier is my second favorite MCU film (right after Guardians of the Galaxy). It might be time for me to give Steve Rogers a proper chance.

collage-fcbd.jpg

Dark Horse Serenity/Hellboy/Aliens ~ This sampler sold me based on the fact it has an Aliens story in it. That’s really all I needed to know. Of course, I’ve been meaning to give Hellboy a try too so this might finally get me moving on that! 

Grumpy Cat (And Pokey) ~ Can a person who loves cats really pass up a Grumpy Cat (and Pokey!) comic? I don’t think so.

DC Superhero Girls ~ DC’s Superhero Girls merchandise is adorable. In high school, I would have absolutely collected the dolls and action figures. Thankfully, I don’t collect dolls anymore, but I am psyched that DC is releasing a companion comic for FCBD. I love that cover so much I might even have to frame it. 

Dark Horse All-Ages Sampler ~ Last year, the Dark Horse sampler was one of my favorite Free Comic Book Day comics. This year, it might be one of my favorites again. I mean, it has a Legend of Korra story! What’s better than that? 

What are you picking up on Free Comic Book Day?

Image Source: PREVIEWSworld and Kiss Them Goodbye

8 thoughts on “My Free Comic Book Day Wish List

  1. I didn’t get a chance to participate this year as I didn’t have transportation and my mom didn’t feel like going out. 😥 But I hope you got a good haul! ❤

  2. I am always so sad we don’t have that anywhere near me, but last year a pen pal was kind enough to send me a few she had picked up. It’s such a neat day, I think, and probably a good way to get newbies into comics. I hope you managed to pick up your favorites 🙂

  3. Yay! Did you manage to get all the titles you wanted? My FI and I went to two locations, and between the two of us we both got everything we were hoping for! Strength in numbers, hahah! My favorite was Archie issue 1. I loved it so much that the next week I got the whole first volume!

    1. I did get everything! I haven’t read them all yet, but so far, my favorite’s been the Boom Comics collection. It reminded me that I really do need to read Lumberjanes.

Leave a Reply

