March into Middle-Earth: A Unexpected Journey

An Unexpected Journey.jpg

I discovered Middle-earth in sixth grade thanks to an English assignment. My mom, having read The Hobbit in sixth grade herself, decided to have me read the book too (I was homeschooled for those who don’t know). For a girl already obsessed with Fantasy series, this was the perfect sort of required reading.

Unsurprisingly, by the end of the book, this Fantasy nerd was 100% in love with dwarves, dragons, and–most of all–hobbits.

After The Hobbit, I went onto read The Lord of the Rings. It was the perfect time to get into the books because the films were just about to be released. I remember sitting in Burger King at the time and talking to my mom about my favorite character, Pippin, as I looked at The Fellowship of the Ring kid’s meal toys and themed goblets before the movie’s release.

I ended up seeing The Fellowship of the Ring five times in the theater became “That Weird Girl Who Is a Little Too Obsessed With Hobbits.” That association stuck well into my high school years–only to be overcome by the title of “That Weird Girl Who Is a Little Too Obsessed With Harry Potter.”

When I learned that Rinn from Rinn Reads was doing a Tolkien Appreciation Month this March, I knew I had to join in. My obsession for The Lord of the Rings has lessened over time, but I still have very fond memories of the series and a lot of weird stuff on hand from my Tolkien Nerd years. If you’re lucky (or extremely unfortunate depending on how you look at it), I might even share some of the REALLY bad and slightly snarky fan fiction I wrote when I was thirteen.

As for my definite plans, I have arts and crafts, collectibles, and stories to share about my The Lord of the Rings days. I will also be attempting to review all of The Hobbit films–including the animated one. I’ve only seen The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey so I’ll be venturing into new territory for this.

Rinn, meanwhile, is doing a buddy read of The Fellowship of the Ring, but since I just reread that last Fall, I decided to tackle one Tolkien’s books that I haven’t read: The Silmarillion. My goal is to read portions of it throughout the month of March and, every Thursday, write a recap. If anyone else wants to join me, here’s my tentative reading/recap schedule:

Week One (March 3rd-10th) ~ Prefaces, Forwards, and Ainulindale

Week Two (March 10th-17th) ~ Valaquenta (Through Chapter XVIII “Of the Ruin of Beleriand and the Fall of Fingolfin”)

Week Three (March 17th-24th) ~ The Rest of Valaquenta

Week Four (March 24th-31st) ~ Akallabeth & Of the Rings of Power and the Third Age

If you do join in on reading The Silmarillion with me, you can use the hashtag #RGSilmarils to tweet about the book. You can also send me links if you write your own review or recaps through my contact page or to @readerlygeek on Twitter. I’ll definitely share them!

I think March into Middle-earth will be a lot of fun. I’ve been wanting to blog about Tolkien’s work for a long time so I’m happy to finally have an excuse! I definitely look forward to seeing what the other participants have in store too!

Who’s your favorite of Tolkien’s characters? Are you joining in on March into Middle-earth?

Image Source: Movie-Screencaps

13 thoughts on “March into Middle-Earth: A Unexpected Journey

  1. Oh I am SO excited for this! I’ve been having an intense urge to watch all the movies / re-read the books again! I just love these characters so much<3 Gandalf has always been my favorite character!

    1. After I finish watching through The Hobbit films, I’ve already decided to move on to a LOTR rewatch. Getting prepped for this series made me realize it’s been too long since I’ve seen them!

  2. One of the great things about the movies, I think, is that is no longer quite so weird to love Tolkien! People will still find it strange if you know all the back stories of the characters and have read more than LotR and The Hobbit, but at least they know what a Hobbit is now!

  3. Thanks so much for joining in with the event! 😀 I’m so happy to see someone with a similar Tolkien experience to mine. I haven’t read The Silmarillion yet (I’ve tried a few times but it’s a tricky one), but I think I’ll try it again soon, though I don’t think I’ll get to it this month.

  4. I still have to read The Silmarillion so I might try and catch up with you! I do love Middle Earth too. Every time I see the books or the movies, I feel so happy and nostalgic. I watched the movies first when I was little, because my big brother was watching them. Later on, I went on to read the books 🙂

    1. Do join in on the read through! I’ve already started my Hobbit watch through and it’s crazy how they’re bringing back so many memories. I’ve already decided that I need to watch the LOTR films again too.

  5. Love this idea! I was one of the same who read the books before the LOTR movies came out. I even have some of the giblets you mentioned! If I can get my hands on the Silmarillion I will try to follow along 🙂

  6. I love this world, how fun that you and Rinn and others are doing this. I will defintiely follow your Silmarillion posts- I read it once years ago and didn’t enjoy it as much as the LotR, but it is rich obviously with so many details and world building, and I’ll be interested to see your thoguhts.

  7. I loved The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings, but The Silmarillion – in spite of its daunting reputation – was always my favourite. So much love! It feels like I read it recently, but it’s been nearly 4 years so I might play catch up and join in for the Valaquenta (especially I was going to have a week talking about mythology, so this is totally required reading, right?)

    I’m not sure I can name a single favourite character though, partly because my memories are so over-shadowed by the films. Ask again in a month 🙂

Leave a Reply

