Totally Should’ve Book Tag

Totally Should've

How’s your bookish year been going so far? I’ve been managing to keep relatively on track with my reading goals and Winter TBR. It’s been a little rough to keep up because some snoozer books have taken me an entire week to finish (I also dropped a few halfway). I’m going to try to pick some fun and more exciting reads next month for a change of pace. I hate getting in the reading doldrums with a book I’m only forcing myself to finish. If you have any recommendations, please let me know!

To keep up my reading spirits, I thought it’d be fun to do a new Book Tag. I saw this “Totally Should’ve” tag on Natalie’s blog and it looked cool enough try. I’m not going to tag anyone specifically to join in, but if you’d like to, feel free!

Totally Should’ve Book Tag

  1. Totally Should’ve Gotten a Sequel ~ There’s a couple Neil Gaiman books I would like a sequel too, but I think I’d most like to read more books set in the Neverwhere I also wouldn’t mind seeing that book made into a proper TV miniseries. The original miniseries is fine, but the budget was obviously WAY small and the cast wasn’t quite right. Maybe, if American Gods does well on HBO, we’ll get some more Neil Gaiman books adapted for the small screen.
  2. Totally Should’ve Had a Spin Off Series ~ Harry Potter. I’m surprisingly ambivalent to the release of The Cursed Child. Harry Potter, as a character, was never someone I particularly wondered about. He wasn’t my favorite character in the series by far, and truthfully, I’d rather not know what happened to him after the end of the series (ahem, he should have died at the end of Deathly Hallows in my opinion). I would like to have some books about the Marauders though or even possibly Neville or Luna. Harry Potter’s story is over and done with, but I would like to get another story—unrelated to him—set in that world.
  3. An Author Who Totally Should Write More Books ~ Emily Croy Baker’s been working on the sequel to The Thinking Woman’s Guide to Real Magic for three years now. I loved the first book and am willing to wait for the second. I just wish I didn’t have to wait so long because it’s nice to read more books in a fantasy series that you like. I’d also like to see what other sort of stories Baker will cook up after she’s done with this series.
  4. A Character Who Totally Should’ve Ended Up With Someone Else ~There are so many! I have the habit of shipping non-canon ships and being angry-disappointed when things don’t work out right. My top two are probably Bella from Twilight and Katniss from The Hunger Games. Bella should have ended up with Jacob and Katniss with Gale. Those are my firm opinions, and I’m still not amused with how things turned out.
  5. Totally Should’ve Ended Differently ~ Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows? I mean I seriously wanted one of the trio to die.
  6. Totally Should’ve Had a Movie Franchise ~ I read Naomi Novik’s His Majesty’s Dragon after watching Pride and Prejudice and Zombies because I was in the mood for alt-history set in the Regency period. While I loved the concept behind Novik’s book, I got frustrated because I couldn’t picture the harnessing on the dragons or how the fighting would look in midair. I’d love for this series to be made into films so I could actually make sense of what I was reading about. Also, I think it would just be amazing to see dragons fighting on the big screen—not to mention period clothing and lady dragon riders.
  7. Totally Should’ve Had a TV Show ~ Connie Willis’ Oxford Time Travel series could make a fantastic show. The book series is set in four different time periods (the 21st century, The Middle Ages, The Regency Period, and smack dab in the middle of the Blitz) and has a lot of time hopping, animals, and talk of paradoxes. I love time travel shows, and this series could work fantastically as one if it were similar in tone to last year’s Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norrell.
  8. Totally Should’ve Had Only One Point of View ~ Is all books with multiple POVs an acceptable answer? I know some stories need to have multiple POVs, but I really don’t like reading them if I can help it. Almost always, there will be one character that I’ll love and I’ll have to rush through all the other character’s boring storylines to get back to that one. I will say that I like reading books with an omniscient narrator. That’s different from reading stories told in first person from multiple people’s viewpoints or limited third person.
  9. Totally Should Have a Cover Change ~ I feel like I could list about a dozen YA books in this category, but I’m going to go with Deanna Raybourn’s Lady Julia Grey The series has already had a lot of cover changes, but it needs one more. The original covers weren’t bad, but the second covers were WAY too romance novel-y and the third covers were just bad. There should have been one more cover change to something elegant and mysterious because that would be suitable for a mystery series set in Victorian England.
  10. Totally Should’ve Kept the Original Covers ~ I’m so thankful that the hardcover edition of The Winner’s Kiss will have the same cover art as the rest of the series. I did not like the cover change at all. The original is so gorgeous, and while the new art isn’t horrible, it certainly is more cheesy. It doesn’t help that it’s not very appropriate for the character or story either.
  11. Totally Should’ve Stopped at Book One ~ Me Before You happened. After You didn’t. That’s all I have to say.

What’s the best book you read this month?

Image Source: Sam-Claflin.Com

9 thoughts on “Totally Should’ve Book Tag

  1. Team Jacob!!! Hahah. I’m not even a huge fan of the books, but it still bothers me how many people prefer Edward. I thought he was so creepy (as in the skeevy/go away way, not the spooky way) and kind of a jerk.

    I agree with you about Harry Potter. Harry’s alright, but he’s far from my favorite character in the series. I’m more curious what everyone else is up to!

    1. I feel like it was a cop out by the author to have Gale blow up her sister and it annoyed me to no end. It took away Katniss’ hard decision of choosing between Peeta and Gale. It made everything too convenient in the end.

  2. I’m also of the opinion Harry should have died at the end – or rather, stayed dead. But it would’ve seriously screwed with the allegory she was using, so that’s how I made my peace with it. xD

    I’ve been reading a lot this month, but honestly, the best has been my re-read of the Anne of Green Gables series. I’ve read the first three and am currently in the middle of the fourth. It’s nothing new to me, or innovative, but it’s definitely a comfort read.

  3. I would looooooooooove to see a proper tv miniseries of Neverwhere–one of my favourite Neil Gaiman novels 😀

    I haven’t read Me Before You yet but I heard the sequel wasn’t so great so yeah, when I get around to reading the first book I think I’ll stop there 🙂

Leave a Reply

