{From My Shelves} Top Five Books on My Winter TBR

HUMBLEhoney.COM

So my Fall TBR wasn’t entirely a success. Out of the five books on my to-read list, I only finished two of them–and they were the short ones. Tigana, Agatha Christie’s autobiography, and Ship of Magic are still waiting on my shelves to be picked up.

They’ll probably be there for awhile.

Lately, I’ve been trying to clear out my shelves (a very epic unhauling post will probably come later this month). It’s, of course, easier to clear them out when you pick the smallest books you own and speed through them. I’ve not been doing too badly at that. I’ve read a handful of literary novels and fairy tale retellings that have been lurking on my shelves. The good thing about those types of novels is that I rarely reread them so they’re all going in the “Donate to the Library” pile.

My shelves are actually getting less embarrassingly packed at this point. Hopefully, after another month or so of The Culling, I’ll even have a decent amount of space for NEW books.

To that end, my Winter TBR is a mix of books I want to read, books I want to clear off my shelves, and one book that I’m not sure I want to read but that I’m going to force myself to get through anyway.

We’ll see how it goes this time around.

Top Five Books on My Winter TBR

  1. The Penderwicks by Jeanne Birdsall ~ I learned my lesson with last season’s TBR. I have to include some very short books that won’t seem so overwhelming to complete. The Penderwicks is that book for my Winter TBR. It’s a children’s novel that’s about 260 pages long. Very doable. It also must be pretty decent since it won the National Book Award. It’s about time I gave it a chance!
  2. Pride and Prejudice and Zombies by Jane Austen and Seth Grahame-Smith ~ Yeah, this is the book that I’m going to force myself to get through. The film comes out in February so I really should get cracking on this one. I figure it’ll make decent at-work reading since I can hold myself hostage with it (if it’s the only book I brought with me to read at the reference desk, I’ll have no choice but to pick it up!).
  3. The Weird Sisters by ¬†Eleanor Brown ~ This is a shelf-clearing read. I’ve owned it for years but never bothered to give it a try. It’s not too bad length-wise AND it’s about a family who loves books (while also having some Shakespeare tie-ins). It’s sounds pretty good as shelf-clearing reads go.
  4. Passenger by Alexandra Bracken ~ This is most definitely NOT a shelf-clearing read. I’ve been longing to read Passenger since I first heard about it last year. Of course, I was over-the-moon when I won it as part of a giveaway (from Kristin at SuperSpaceChick). The only reason I haven’t read it yet it because I’ve been in a crappy mood. I want to be in a good mood for this one!
  5. Star Wars: Before the Awakening by Greg Rucka ~ Before the Awakening is one of the few books I got for Christmas this year, and I’m so excited to read it. Surprising no one, I’m a bit obsessed with The Force Awakens so I’m definitely looking forward to getting background on Rey, Poe, and Finn. This is another book that I haven’t read yet because of my mood, but I’ll probably pick it up after I finish my current read. I’d love to get it done before seeing the film again!

Is anyone else trying to clear off their shelves for the new year? And what’s on your Winter TBR?

3 thoughts on “{From My Shelves} Top Five Books on My Winter TBR

  1. PRIDE AND PREJUDICE AND ZOMBIES is actually really funny. I found it motivating to read (back a couple years ago) just because it entertained me – I’d watched the movies so often I knew the plot back and forth.

Leave a Reply

