Top Ten Bookish Resolutions for 2016

Top Ten Tuesday (1)

Joining in with The Broke and the Bookish‘s Top Ten Tuesday again!

Most years, I don’t make normal resolutions. I tend to find that sort of thing unnecessarily stressful. The only exception is that I always set reading goals for myself. Usually, that’s as part of the Goodreads Reading Challenge, but I also try to strongly encourage myself to read certain things every year.

In 2015, I wanted to read 75 books and to read more diversely. I surpassed my goal of 75 books easily, and I do have to say that I did better at reading the works of diverse authors than I have in previous years. Overall, it was a win (despite several bad reading slumps and A LOT of graphic novels read).  I’m hoping this year to do better so I thought I’d make a longer list of book-related goals this year.

Like with other years, I don’t plan to hold myself to completing all of these, but I tried to make them as easily doable as possible. These ten “resolutions” are all things I actually want to do so we’ll see how it goes in 2016 !

Top Ten Bookish Resolutions for 2016

  • Reread the Shannara Chronicles Before Watching the TV Show ~ I read Terry Brooks series when I was in high school–which was long enough ago that I remember next to nothing about the books. The previews for the show look excellent, but the book nerd in me needs to know what’s in the books before even embarking on the pilot. Time to get cracking those spines since the show premieres soon. (Only a figure of speech, of course. I don’t crack spines.)
  • Start Game of Thrones ~ I’d say read the entirety of the Game of Thrones series, but I’m not 100% certain that I’ll like it. Finishing the first book would be an excellent start. Finishing the second would be even better. We’ll see what happens.
  • Catch Up on Series ~ This should be like five different resolutions because there are plenty of series I’m WAY behind on. I need to read Knight’s Shadow, three of The Expanse books, and Invasion of the Tearling. I was so proud of myself for getting to After You by Jojo Moyes last year, but now, I’m feeling the pressure of all these unfinished series!
  • Read Batman and Superman Graphic Novels in Preparation for Batman V Superman: Dawn of Justice ~ I love Superman and Batman, but I’m bad and haven’t actually read any of their comics. I tend to shy away from the testosterone heavy superhero series, but I want to finally give them a try.
  • Read 75 Books This Year ~ I used to set my goal at 100 books every year, but I’m a perfectionist and I stress out if I don’t feel like I’m meeting my full potential. . .even if that just has to do with not reading all the books I meant to in a year. I set my goal at 75 now because I can meet it without having to try too hard (and it also makes me feel warm and fuzzy inside when I inevitably surpass that number).
  • Read Some Non-Fiction ~ I like non-fiction in theory. I just don’t read that much of it anymore unless it’s a memoir. I used to love reading non-fiction so it’s about time I got into that again.
  • Read Pride and Prejudice and Zombies ~ The film’s coming out. I need to buckle down and read this. I own it so I really have no excuse, and if all else fails, I can listen to the audiobook on my lunch break.
  • Read Lady Susan by Jane Austen ~ Sticking with the theme, I’ve read a lot of Jane Austen, but I never read her last (unfinished) novel. Again, I own it (no excuses) and I really just want to get to it before the confusingly titled adaptation, Love & Friendship, is released. (I have read Love & Friendship, by the way, but there’s no way anyone would actually adapt that manicness to the screen.)
  • Read Some Books in Translation ~ I haven’t read many translated books since I was in college–maybe like one that was originally in French. I already have one book out of the library that was written by a Chilean author, but I need to try some more. If you have any recs for this goal, let me know! It’s sort of intimidating to know where to start.
  • Read Diversely ~ Last year, I made this resolution and I’m doing it again this year. (I want to try to read more and more books by Women and POC every year!) With this resolution, I also am going to try to focus more on diverse books on the blog. I did that to a certain extent in 2015, but I want to go even further with it this year.

Do you have any reading goals this year? How do you feel about resolutions in general? Yay or nay?

Image Source: Kiss Them Goodbye

11 thoughts on “Top Ten Bookish Resolutions for 2016

  1. Great goals! Game of Thrones is a great series but isn’t for everyone. Though I do hope you enjoy it. My favorite from the series is the 3rd book.

    As for nonfiction, I’d be willing to send some suggestions your way. I have a whole stack I just ordered that are waiting to be read, but my current goal is to reread A Song of Ice and Fire since it has been a while (Game of Thrones).

    I wrote about my goals over at Common Room but kept it brief because I wanted to give a few ideas to people who might want to set a goal but don’t know what to do.

    http://comrom.co/ch-ch-changes-getting-rid-of-the-2016-reading-goals-count/

    Thanks for sharing your 2016 goals – loved reading your post.

    1. I’d love non-fiction recs!! I just finished listening to Hamilton so I’m probably going to try to tackle that HUGE biography this year, but other than that I have no plans!

  2. I also read Terry Brooks in high school but it’s been so long that I don’t remember how Elfstones of Shannara goes…With my book-buying ban in effect atm and focusing on my TBR pile, I’m hoping to revisit the Shannara books later this year.

    Books in translation…Off the top of my head, I highly recommend Elena Ferrante’s Neapolitan novels, Carlos Ruiz Zafon’s The Shadow of the Wind, and Sebastien Japrisot’s A Very Long Engagement. I ❤ books in translation lol.

    Have fun reading Jane Austen's Lady Susan! It was interesting, very different from her other books.

    Best of luck with your resolutions this year 🙂 My TTT

  3. Good call on reading the books before seeing the movies/watching the TV shows! I don’t do that often enough and I really should.

    I’m not a huge Superman fan but I really loved Red Son by Mark Millar. It re-imagines what it would have been like if Superman was raised in Russia. Batman is in it too. =) But the movie is inspired by Frank Miller’s Batman so that might be zero help to you. I also enjoy Scott Snyder’s Batman comics.

  4. Wow, I’m really impressed by these goals, they seem very ambitious (but also very well thought out, and awesome). I think it’s very important to read diverse, too, and I want to make an effort doing this more. I don’t read as much currently, so it’s not on my list for this year, but it’s definitely on my “life goals of reading.”
    I’ve been considering rereading the Shannara Chronicle, too, but to be honest, I’m also a little afraid to do so. I loved them when I was younger, but what if they aren’t as good as I remember? (I was 13, when I read them, and I’m pretty sure I had different standards back then.) If you do reread, you will have to let me know what you think!
    And in regards to Game of Thrones; if you don’t like the first one, there is no reason to read the second. I absolutely love those books, but I know many people think they are very boring, and honestly? Why read them, then.

    Best of luck! And I’d love to hear about your reading adventures along the way 🙂

    P.S. I do crack spines, and it’s about my favorite thing in the world.

    1. I’m not so sure what to expect when rereading the Shannara books either. I’ll try to review the books as I read them. That’ll help so I don’t forget the plots again!

Leave a Reply

