{Gift Round-Up} Girls Read Comics Too

Gift

I’ve been slacking at writing about comics lately. It’s not that I haven’t been reading them. . .it’s just that I’m still reading them mostly as stress-relief so I don’t really feel like writing about them when I’m feeling overwhelmed enough to read them. (Hopefully, that will change soon because I really want to talk about some of the ones I’ve been reading lately.)

Needless to say, for me, comics are like comfort food so I love surrounding myself with comics-related items and wearing comics-related clothes. I have a decent amount of superhero swag on my personal wish list so I thought I’d share the joy and do a gift round-up in case you or one of your friends loves comic stuff too!

Not all of these items are on my personal list, for your information. I’m not that greedy. ūüôā

Like last week’s Bookish Round-Up, I tried to keep most of the gifts under $30 (although there are a few over that). I also tried to have a mix of items just in case not everyone loves superhero comics!

{Gift Round-Up} Girls Love Comics Too

comic-gifts

    • Landfall Freight Co.¬†Subscription Box ~ There are a lot of subscription boxes out there, but Landfall Freight is one of the especially cool ones because it’s a female-centric comic book box. It’s also run by two sisters–which makes it even more awesome.¬†
    • Girls Don‚Äôt Read Comics Tote¬†~ You always need more totes for carrying all those comic books!
    • Harley Quinn Fabrikations¬†~ Some of Funko’s fabrications are a little weird, but Harley’s cute and a little crazy looking. . so, of course, she’s pretty perfect!¬†
    • Catwoman: A Celebration of 75 years¬†~ If your comic book friend loves Genevieve Valentine’s run on Catwoman or is obsessed with Selina Kyle on Gotham (like me), this looks like a great book for them to read to learn more about her history.

comic-gifts-2

    • Wonder Woman¬†Pajamas¬†~ These pajamas are SO comfortable and how awesome is it to dress like a superhero to go to sleep?¬†
    • Spider-Gwen Sweater¬†~ Or to dress up like a superhero for work or day-to-day living?¬†
    • Marvel and DC Graphic Novels ~ Sometimes you miss series when they’re in individual issues. Sometimes you’re too poor to keep up. Some of the best graphic novels to try are¬†Ms. Marvel by G. Willow Wilson and various artists, Squirrel Girl by Ryan North and Erica Henderson, Thor by Jason Aaron and Russel Dauterman, and Gotham Academy by Becky Cloonan and Brenden Fletcher.
    • Black Widow Lip Gloss¬†~It’s called “Red in My Ledger.” Just f.y.i..

comic-gift-3

    • Funko of Favorite Superhero ~ There might not be a Funko for every superhero, but there’s sure to be one that your giftee is fond of!
    • Color Your Own Age of Ultron¬†~ Seriously, they have coloring books for everything at this point.
    • Fat Pony Plush and Step Aside, Pops by Kate Beaton ~ Kate Beaton is amazing–particularly if you’re a history or literature nerd or like pony fart jokes.
    • Steve and Bucky Mug¬†~ Because I know you know someone who ships them.

comic-gift-4

    • Indie Graphic Novels ¬†~ Along the same lines as Marvel and DC Comics, there’s sure to be great Indie comics your giftee has missed. Try Lady Killer by Joelle Jones and Jamie Rich, Copperhead by Jay Faerber and Scott Godlewski and Ron Riley, Giant Days by John Allison and Whitney Coger and Lissa Treiman, or¬†Velvet¬†by Ed Brubaker and Steve Epting.
    • Non-Compliant Nail Art¬†~ Just because.
    • Lying Cat Mug¬†~ Basically everyone loves Saga.¬†Here’s a mug to show off adoration.
    • Holy Kitten Plush¬†~ Lumberjanes, cats, and talking plushies. Those things together sound like a combination to make a perfect Christmas gift.

Do you have any cool comics-related merch on your Christmas list?

Cover Image Source: Kiss Them Goodbye

4 thoughts on “{Gift Round-Up} Girls Read Comics Too

  1. I like this mostly because you mentioned Velvet. Also I agree on that colouring book craze — most of my colleagues are really into it!

Leave a Reply

