The Ultimate Harry Potter Tag

Untitled design (1)

Alice from over at The Geeky Burrow tagged me in The Ultimate Harry Potter Tag! I’m a huge Harry Potter fan (which you might know if you read my post about being a Potter Fangirl) so I was thrilled to get a chance to answer all sorts of Potter-related questions.

Harry-Potter-I-love-Magic-GIF-1443133953

GENERAL

Favorite book?
The Prisoner of Azkaban is my #1 Harry Potter book, but mostly because it introduces my favorite characters of the series (Lupin and Sirius). The first three books, in general, are tops for me though.

Least favorite book?
The last book. Before Half-Blood Prince, I was so proud of J. K. Rowling for not using the trope where the fantasy hero has to destroy something to kill the Big Bad. I was so disappointed when the series turned into that. I liked The Deathly Hallows, but it wasn’t really where I was hoping the series would go.

Favorite movie?
Prisoner of Azkaban—again, mostly because of Remus and Sirius. I also have fond memories of gushing over Harry Potter with friends for the first time leading up to this movie’s release so that’s probably part of it too.

Least favorite movie?
Goblet of Fire. I didn’t approve of all the changes that were made to the film. The only thing I liked about it was David Tennant. I literally started crushing on him because of this movie. For some reason, people are generally weirded out when I tell them that.

Favorite quote?
I’m awful with quotes, but let’s go with “I solemnly swear that I’m up to no good.”

Favorite Weasley?
I’ve never had super strong feelings about the Weasleys. (Gasp!) I like Mr. Weasley best, I guess. He seemed like a very nice person and had the added quirk of loving Muggle objects. I always am partial to eccentrics.

Favorite female character?
Professor Mcgonagall.

Favorite villain?
I’d say the best villain is Professor Umbridge, but she’s definitely not my favorite! Can Mrs. Norris the cat count?

Favorite male character?
Remus Lupin. He’s always been the character I can most identify with in the series, and I just love how tragic and fascinating his story is.

Favorite professor?
Remus Lupin, again.

harry-potter-gif-2

WOULD YOU RATHER?

Wash Snape’s hair, or B. Spend a day listening to Lockhart rant about himself.
Listen to Lockhart. Greasy hair and I would not mix.

Duel A. An elated Bellatrix, or B. An angry Molly
Bellatrix.

Travel to Hogwarts via A. Hogwarts Express or B. Flying car
Flying car. That would just be so awesome!

A. Kiss Voldemort or B. Give Umbridge a bubble bath
This bathing of villains thing isn’t my cup of tea so I’d kiss Voldemort (it wouldn’t be so, so bad if it was Tom Riddle-looking-Voldemort).

A. Ride a Hippogriff or B. Ride a Firebolt
Ride a Hippogriff. It took me years to learn how to ride a bike. I would never survive on a broomstick.

Daniel-Radcliffe-as-Harry-Potter-laughing-and-cheering-GIF

BOOK TO MOVIE ADAPTATION

Is there a character which you felt differently about in the movies VS books?
Dumbledore-as-played-by-Michael-Gambon. I didn’t like Dumbledore at all in the later movies because of the way Gambon portrayed him.

Is there a movie you preferred instead of the book?
No.

Richard Harris or Michael Gambon as Dumbledore?
Richard Harris, not surprisingly. I like Michael Gambon in other things, but he was really miscast as Dumbledore.

Your top thing (person or event) which wasn’t included in the movie that annoyed you most?
Dobby should have been in the movies more (especially Goblet of Fire).

If you could remake any of the Potter movies, which would it be?
Goblet of Fire. I don’t usually approve of splitting books into two movies, but that’s probably the only way the fourth book could have been done well. The film cut SO much!

tumblr_lpjaz3s90a1qc6x9z

HOGWARTS

Which house was your first gut feeling you’d be a part of?
Ravenclaw.

Which house were you actually sorted into on Pottermore (or another sorting quiz)?
I’m usually sorted into Ravenclaw or Slytherin. (Make of that what you will.)

Which class would be your favourite?
Care of Magical Creatures. I do love animals.

Which spell do you think would be most useful to learn?
Episky. I’m always getting bruises or having hurt hands from crocheting so it would be nice to use a healing spell.

Which character do you think at Hogwarts you’d instantly become best friends with?
Luna Lovegood. Us weirdos have to stick together.

harry-potter-gif

MISCELLANEOUS

If you could own one of the three Hallows, which would it be?
The Invisibility Cloak.

Is there any aspect of the books you’d want to change? This can be a character, and event, anything.
There are two main things I’d want to change:

  1. Harry and Ginny should not have been a thing and certainly shouldn’t have ended up together.
  2. Harry Potter should have died in the last book. I cannot tell you how annoyed I was that all the three main characters lived. One should have died and that one should have been Harry.

(Maybe the being in Slytherin thing is starting to make sense. . .)

Favorite Marauder?
If you don’t know the answer to this one by now, I’d be shocked.

If you could bring one character back to life, which would it be?
Dobby. Embarrassingly, I bawled my eyes out when he died.

Hallows or horcruxes?
Hallows, I guess, since there’s the whole murdering thing with horcruxes.

And that’s it for The Ultimate Harry Potter Tag! If you’d like to join in, you’re absolutely welcome to! It’s a lot of fun.

Which Hogwarts House would you be sorted into?

Image Sources: X, X, X, X, X, X

2 thoughts on “The Ultimate Harry Potter Tag

Leave a Reply

