Mini Library Book Sale Haul

course (1)

In my “Five Favorite Things About Autumn” post, I confessed that library book sales were one of my favorite things about Fall. Well, they’ve started, and I have to say that I’m disappointed in the first sale of the season. I only bought five books! Five books! That’s practically none at all.

doctor-who-gif

It’s not that the sale didn’t have a lot of books either. It was just that the books weren’t exactly something I’d be interesting in reading. (If you wanted James Patterson books, you would have had a field day with this sale. Just saying.)

I can’t complain too too much though because I did find a few good things and only spent $6.  I just hope the next sale has a better selection. I need some more YA and Science Fiction on my shelves!

The Haul
book-haul-fall

Most of my book hauls have Star Wars EU novels in them, but this time, I hit the jackpot and found two of the books in The Thrawn Trilogy! I’ve heard so much about this trilogy, but I’ve never been able to find used copies. I wish they had had the 2nd book, but I imagine I’ll be able to track it down through the library if I don’t find it at another sale soon.

book-haul-fall-2

I rarely ever find cool graphic novels at library sales. They had some halfway decent stuff this time, but I passed on most of it up because I didn’t care for the writer/artist.  I did get one thing though! While I don’t know how cool this Iron Man collection will be, it was huge and only a dollar so I couldn’t pass it up. I’ve only ever read about Tony Stark in the Superior Iron Man series–which I thoroughly enjoy–so it will be interesting to read more about the character.

book-haul-fall-3His Majesty’s Dragon is one of those books that I’ve owned several times. I want to read and like it, but I just haven’t given it much of a chance. About a month ago, I started the ebook during a slow work day and actually got into it. Of course, I don’t have an ereader so I didn’t finish then. Now, I can finally get this dragon book done!

As for Book of a Thousand Days, it’s a fairy tale retelling by the author of Austenland. Needless to say, I’ve been wanting to read it for awhile now.

book-haul-fall-4

Apparently the library was getting rid of their entire Foreign Film section because there were TONS of Bollywood, French, and Japanese films for sale. I limited myself to two. Honey and Clover is a Japanese RomCom about art school students and Mangal Pandey: The Rising is a historical film about the Indian Mutiny. The two are very different films, but they both sounded good to me!

Yeah, and I couldn’t pass up an Arnold Schwarzenegger film–particularly since it’s one I haven’t seen yet.

Not a bad haul considering.  I’m just used to getting a lot more when I go to these sales. Of course, it’s not like I have a whole lot of room on my shelves right now. Maybe by  the next sale I’ll have the space cleared out for more than a handful of books.

Do you like library book sales? Or do you prefer getting new books to used books?

Gif Source

4 thoughts on “Mini Library Book Sale Haul

  1. I love library book sales! I think they’re a great way to support your local library and get books for a really good price. I’m not picky about new or used usually, especially since most of my “to read” pile came from Goodwill stores. One of the libraries in the county has a monthly book sale, but it’s usually when I work, so I miss out.

  2. My grandmother will get books at Goodwill and hand them down to me! Most of the time I buy new though, but I’ll have to look into a library sale!

Leave a Reply

