My Most Anticipated End-of-the-Year Films

My Most Aniticpated

Looking back at my “Most Anticipated Movies of 2015” post, I realized I’ve seen all but three of the movies I was anticipating way back in January (and one didn’t even end up coming out this year). Apparently, I didn’t take into account end-of-the-year films when I made my list because the only movie in my original post that’s not been released yet is Star Wars. And that’s just a shame since there are still a lot of decent movies coming out.

Thanks to having a gift card and a cheap theater in the area, I intend to do a lot of moviegoing this Fall. So far, I have a list of eight movies I’d like to see in the theater. The list will probably shrink because I live in the Midwest (the land where artsy movies rarely come for a visit), but it’s a good place to start.

My Most Anticipated End-of-the-Year Films

  • Star Wars: The Force Awakens ~ What can I really say about The Force Awakens that would be a surprise to you at this point? It’s Star Wars. I like Star Wars. I just hope J. J. Abrams doesn’t screw it up. (Also, I’m already in love with BB-8.)
  • The Hunger Games Mockingjay Part 2 ~ I haven’t seen a Hunger Games film in the theater since the first one, but this franchise is one of my favorites. I even loved Mockingjay Part 1—which seems like a slightly unpopular opinion. It’ll be interesting to see how “Part 2” winds everything up. I expect to find it particularly enlightening since I could never get what was going on in the last book.
  • Pan ~ Fairy Tale adaptations are a bit of an obsession of mine. I love movies like Mirror, Mirror and Jack the Giant Slayer—even if they are a bit silly. Pan looks like it will be a match for those movies in the “Fun, Fairy Tale Film” category. The best part? It has Garrett Hedlund as Hook. Yeah, I’m definitely excited to see it.
  • Suffragette ~ Written by Abi Morgan (the woman behind The Hour), this is a film that’s relevant to my interests. I think it’s going to be a hard movie to watch, but it looks so good. Side note: If you haven’t seen Iron Jawed Angels, now might be a good time to check it out because it shows the American side of the fight for women’s right to vote.
  • Victor Frankenstein~ Seriously, this movie looks bonkers. It’s like the Frankenstein equivalent to Guy Richie’s Sherlock films but with Harry Potter and Young Xavier in the lead roles. It might not be good, but I can’t imagine it won’t be fun.
  • Steve Jobs~ Watching the trailer for Steve Jobs made me mad that the second season of Halt and Catch Fire isn’t available for streaming on Netflix yet. Other than those completely unrelated negative feelings, I’m intrigued by this film. I sort of wish it wasn’t a straight biopic and more focused on the early days of Apple (okay, this feeling is related to Halt and Catch Fire), but I’ll give it a try—especially since you can’t go completely wrong with Michael Fassbender’s face.
  • The Good Dinosaur~ This latest Pixar movie looks gorgeous! I know I would have been obsessed with this movie when I was a kid so I have to see it in honor of that. Also, I love anything to do with dinosaurs—even cute, non-chompy ones.
  • Everest~ I’ll be straight with you. My desire to see this film is entirely related to the weird crush I’ve developed on Jason Clarke. (Thanks, Terminator Genisys.) Still, it’s also sort of a disaster movie and has Keira Knightley in a non-corset-wearing role (those are my favorites of hers). What could go wrong?

What movies are you most looking forward to this Fall?

Image Source: ComingSoon.net

5 thoughts on “My Most Anticipated End-of-the-Year Films

  1. Yes to Star Wars (obvs), Mockingjay and Suffragette! And I’m totally with you on Victor Frankenstein. I’m a HUGE Frankenstein fan and this looks totally bonkers and amazing.

  2. Cool list! Steve Jobs seems to be a big Oscar contender. I’m not a big Star Wars fan but I think a part of me is already in line for the midnight showing. lol My sister and I are really looking forward to Crimson Peak too.

Leave a Reply

