From My Shelves ~ Top Five Books On My Fall TBR

From My Shelves

Over the last five or more years, I’ve collected a lot of books from library book sales. Mostly fantasies—although I have some classics and book club-type reads lying around too. I, embarrassingly, have an entire bookshelf devoted these unread books–not counting my TV stand that’s stuffed with (mostly) unread paperbacks also. I’ve been especially lax in reading these books this year, choosing to read shiny, new books from the library instead.

I’ve been in the mood for curling up in a blanket with tea and a novel since the temperature dipped below seventy degrees so Autumn seems like the perfect time to get a handle on those absurd TBR shelves.

While my TBR is, obviously, too big to finish in one season, I have five books that I definitely want to tackle in the coming months.

Top Five Books on My Fall TBR

  1. Ship of Magic by Robin Hobb ~ I’m bad. I read the first book in Hobb’s Farseer Trilogy last year, but I never read the sequel. Instead of actually reading the 2nd book in that series, I want to start another one. I hear there are pirates in the Liveship Traders trilogy to boot and that beats magicians and assassins in my book any day. Plus, I’ve had Ship of Magic on my shelves for two years. It’s about time I tried it.
  2. Another Fine Myth by Robert Asprin ~ My uncle, who recommended Terry Pratchett and Douglas Adams to me, also told me to try Asprin’s series. Since he, obviously, has good taste I want to finally give this series a proper go. I love comedic fantasy so hopefully I’ll enjoy the series (especially since I own the 2nd book too).
  3. Tigana by Guy Gavriel Kay ~ A lot of the books on my TBR are huge, but that’s definitely what’s kept me from actually finishing Tigana. I think the furthest I’ve made it into this book was fifty pages. Supposedly, it’s a wonderful stand-alone fantasy. After all the series, I’ve been reading that feels like a pleasant respite. It’s time I committed and finished it.
  4. Agatha Christie: An Autobiography ~ While not a library book sale find, this has been on my shelves for years. It’s also huge. And non-fiction. Those two facts have turned me off this autobiography for years. Maybe I just need to watch “The Unicorn and the Wasp” again. That will probably put me in the right mood for this doorstopper of a book.
  5. Foundation by Isaac Asimov ~ I’ve bought this book twice at library book sales. The first copy I owned was redonated because I just couldn’t get into the story. Since then, I’ve read some of Asimov’s robot stories and enjoyed them—hence buying a 2nd copy of Foundation. If I don’t get through this book in the Fall, I’m redonating it again and forbidding myself from buying it a third time.

What’s on your TBR this fall?

Image Source: Movie Screencaps

8 thoughts on “From My Shelves ~ Top Five Books On My Fall TBR

  1. I’ve been meaning to start the Farseer Trilogy! One of my favorite BookTuber’s RAVES about Robin Hobb all the time and it’s gotten me so interested in her work.

  2. I love Robin Hobb, and even though it makes me sad you never finished the Farseer Trilogy (it gets better with every book), I’m thrilled you are planning to read one of her other books – many people even consider this one better than Farseer, and they might be right, but since Assassin’s Apprentice was my first introduction to Adult(ish) High Fantasy, it holds a very special place in my heart.
    I’ve had Tigana on my list forever, too. I love long series, so even though this is supposed to be an excellent stand-alone as you say, that’s kinda also what’s holding me back. I’m sure I’ll love it when I finally do read it, though. You will have to let me know if you do, and it’s as good as they say 😀

Leave a Reply

