{Top Ten} My Fall TV Picks

GET INSPIRED (1)

Looking at this Fall’s TV line-up has been disheartening. Most of the shows I’m really pumped about don’t premiere until mid-season (like Agent Carter, Galavant, and The X-Files). Having to wait for those shows isn’t fun, but it would have been easier to hold out if amazing stuff had been starting in the Fall.

No such luck.

There are a lot of crime dramas, doctor dramas, and dramas based off of movies I hated on the schedule.  I can’t actually believe that there are only two or three new shows I even want to try! There’s usually a few more than that.

At least, there are a bunch of middling-to-good superhero shows returning and a lovely comedy or two. Those will just have to tide me over until my beloved Agent Carter returns next year.

My Fall TV Picksgotham-selina-edit

  • Gotham ~ Last year, Constantine and Gotham were my two favorite shows on TV. Since Constantine’s not coming back, Gotham’s the show I’m most looking forward to this season. I’m super excited to see where Edward Nygma and Selina Kyle’s characters go, and I’m definitely longing for more cute Baby!Cat and Baby!Bat scenes.
  • Arrow ~ Season Three was not a good one for Arrow. I was so disappointed by how Felicity’s character was handled and how AWFUL Oliver was. Until a couple of weeks ago, I wasn’t even sure I wanted to keep watching this show. . .and then it was announced that John Constantine would be making a guest appearance. Yeah, I’ve changed my tune.
  • Brooklyn Nine-Nine ~ So I watched two seasons of Brooklyn Nine-Nine over the Summer, and now it’s my favorite comedy on TV. I love the show’s wacky humor and appreciate its diversity. What I’m most excited about for next season, though, is Bill Hader joining the cast. I cannot wait to see how that turns out.

Supergirl-First-Look

  • Supergirl ~ I want Supergirl to be good. It’s the first female superhero show on TV in years , and I’m rooting for it to be a blockbuster. I am trying to keep my expectations in check, however, because it is done by the same team behind Arrow and The Flash. Sadly, neither of those shows do right by their female characters. I’m hoping Supergirl will be different.
  • Once Upon a Time ~ Two words: Dark Swan.
  • The Flash ~ I don’t even know about this show. The best part about it was Dr. Wells’ mustache twirling villainy and with that gone (I guess?), I’m not sure what will keep me invested. . .unless it’s more awesome villains. Basically, all I like about this show is the villains—which, for me, is par for the course.

agents-of-shield-edit

  • Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. ~ I want to love AoS, but it’s hard to sometimes. The first season was really good, but the second just had too many characters and too much plot going on. I’m hoping the show will be a little more character-focused this season and that Ward will get more screen-time because he’s got so much potential. If those things happen, my love for AoS will probably be restored.
  • The Mindy Project ~ I’m so glad Hulu saved The Mindy Project. It’s been one of my favorite comedies for years, and I cannot wait to see what sort of drama lies in wait for Danny, Mindy, and company this season.
  • Heroes Reborn ~ I never finished Heroes. I couldn’t do it after stupid Nathan Petrelli got raised from the dead for the fiftieth time. I’m going to give this series a chance though—mainly because of Zachary Levi and my favorite hero, Mohinder.
  • Crazy Ex-Girlfriend~ This show is probably going to be awful, but it had singing in its preview so I’m sold.

What shows are you looking forward to this Fall?

Image Sources: Kiss Them Goodbye and Supergirl: Maid of Might

17 thoughts on “{Top Ten} My Fall TV Picks

    1. I’m actually rewatching the first season of AoS now and I’m loving it. I’d like to get through the 2nd too before the new season starts, but that’s going to call for serious binging!

  1. Ha yes! I included Crazy Ex-Girlfriend in my Top 5 Fall TV shows too solely because of the singing. And I completely agree about Felicity’s character. She’s my favorite on Arrow and I really love her with Ray. She is a bajillion times too good for Oliver.

  2. It sounds like we have a lot of the same tastes, although I don’t keep up with all the superhero shows. Way too many for me, although my husband disagrees! I do like Agent Carter and Shield. The comedy show I’m looking forward to, in addition to Brooklyn 99 and Mindy, is You’re the Worst.

  3. I love Brooklyn nine nine, but I missed a lot of episodes. I have to catch up! Gotham looks cool, but I confess that I haven’t watched it yet. It is on my list. Save the cheerleader :-). High hopes in the family for Heroes!

  4. I hope to catch up on Heroes before Heroes Reborn. I was OBSESSED with season 1. I hope Supergirl is going to be funtimes and I always love OUAT. Especially live tweeting OUAT- the best wittiest most interactive crowd. Great list Melissa 🙂

  5. I posted on Google Plus, but you have a great list! I can’t wait for a lot of these shows, like Supergirl, Brooklyn 99, Once, Agent Carter, etc.

    Also, you should check out the You’re the Worst like someone suggested. Season one is on Hulu.

  6. Great list. I also don’t really love the Crime Drama’s all the time (I find they cause me undue stress lol). I’m really looking forward to Blindspot (which is a drama, but looks so interesting) and Supergirl (which I’m cautiously optimistic for). Other than those two there isn’t much NEW that I want to see. But Black Swan is totally on my top of the new seasons list and Shield is midway (mind you I need another week to catch up on last season first lol).

  7. Omg, I’m so excited for Once Upon A Time this season. I hope it really lives up to the hype and we see the Dark Swan storyline unfold. Definitely going to check out Heroes Reborn and the Mindy Project. Great post!

Leave a Reply

