Book to Film Adaptations: A Wish List

Book to Film Adaptations (2)

If you couldn’t tell by my Favorite British Miniseries, I have a thing for book adaptations. Most of my favorite movies (okay, maybe not counting action/scifi films) have been adapted from books or have something to do with books/writers. I still get excited anytime a book I love gets made into a film. I’m not really snobbish about adaptations so I’ll generally love anything as long as it’s in “The Spirit of the Book” (basically, I don’t care about accuracy if it’s tonally on point).

While some of my recent favorite books are being made into movies, there are still more adaptations that I’m impatiently waiting to come to the big screen. I could probably write a really long wish list of these books, but I limiting to five this time (think of this post as “Part One”).

The Wish Listbook-to-film-collage

  1. Villette by Charlotte Bronte ~ I’d happily rewatch Jane Austen adaptations forever, but I’d love for there to be a bit more Period Drama variety in the world. Since there’s been a plethora of Jane Eyre adaptations, I don’t see why we can’t have a break and see one of Charlotte’s other books made into a film. Sure, it was a miniseries in the 1970’s, but Jane Eyre’s been remade at least once a decade so I’d say it’s about time to give this a chance. Villette’s my favorite book by any of the Bronte sisters and I’d love to see how it’d look on the big screen—complete with gorgeous sets and pretty, British actors.
  2. The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski ~ This is my favorite YA series at the moment, and I hate that I have to wait until next year to get the third book. The wait for The Winner’s Kiss would be easier if I knew that The Winner’s Curse was being made into a film. Rutkoski’s YA series is super romantic and set in a fascinating alternate universe. It’s technically a fantasy, but there’s no magic or talking animals. It’s more of a historical epic—it’s just not set in Earth’s history. With The Hunger Games winding down, this would be a great series to adapt to film next.
  3. Here’s Looking at You by Mhairi McFarlane ~ I’d be completely happy to see any of McFarlane’s books made into movies, but this would be my first choice. It’s basically a modernization of Pride and Prejudice—complete with biting wit and well-drawn characters. RomComs haven’t been at the top of their game for the last couple of years, but I think the humor and romance in McFarlane’s books could inspire a great, romantic film. Since One Day, Me Before You, and Love, Rosie have been picked to be adaptation into films, I hope Here’s Looking at You might draw someone’s attention too before long.
  4. Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman ~ Did you know the “Author’s Preferred Text” of Neverwhere came out last month? I wouldn’t have known if I hadn’t seen Neil Gaiman tweeting about it on the day it debuted. Neverwhere’s my favorite Neil Gaiman novel (and I already have the new version of it on hold at the library). While it’s been made into an okay miniseries, I’d love to see what Neverwhere would look like with a blockbuster cast (maybe like those who were in the radio production) and a half-decent budget. Hopefully, if American Gods does well on HBO, someone will consider making his other books into films. . .starting with this one.
  5. Armada by Ernest Cline ~ I loved Armada. It’s like a love letter to the 80’s and, if you know how much I love 80’s movies, you’ll know why that made the book a perfect match for me. With its pop culture references and epic space action, Armada could make such a fun movie. It would be like The Last Starfighter meets Pacific Rim. How is that not a movie that everyone would want to see? I’ll actually be shocked if Armada isn’t made into a movie at this point. The book is just begging for an adaptation.

Are there any books that you’d love to see made into movies?

Image Sources: Kiss Them Goodbye & Goodreads

One thought on “Book to Film Adaptations: A Wish List

  1. Cool list! I’ve gratefully added some new picks to my to-read list. Sadly, my wishlist for book to movie adaptations is almost non-existent; didn’t have time this summer to read as much as I wanted but these sounds like loads of fun. 🙂

Leave a Reply

