Back to Blogging

Back toBlogging

Hello Everyone!

I’m back from a bit of a break. I’d like to say it was nice and relaxing to step away from blogging for a month (and a half), but it’s been a pretty stressful time away. Every year–when my birthday comes around–I turn into a mess, and it happened again this year just like clockwork. I can’t write when I get in major meltdown mode so I took some time away.

Anyway, now that I’m back, I’ll be making a few changes around here. I’m going to try (and I mean REALLY try) to narrow this blog down into something resembling a niche. I know I’m all over the place from books to comics to movies to TV to crafts to fashion. I’d like Readerly Geek to be more cohesive so you should notice less random stuff here in the future.

I also want to try to include more essay posts. I feel like I haven’t been pushing myself to be a better writer lately and I need to work on “my craft.” (I hate that phrase. It’s sounds so pretentious, but I don’t know how else to say it.) With my depression/anxiety/stress-levels, it’s hard enough for me to come up with ideas and get posts written, but I want to try for more.  I want to be an actual paid writer someday, but I need to write more than just list-posts and book reviews for that to become a reality.

I just want to thank you all for reading and commenting here. I might not always respond right away, but it means a lot that you take the time to have a conversation with me. You rock!

Have you ever felt the need for a change on your blog?

Image Source: Kiss Them Goodbye

7 thoughts on “Back to Blogging

  1. I am no stranger to the annual birthday depression. It’s not even about getting older, in fact I don’t know what it is. But I definitely get it. And I want to change my blog ALL THE TIME, I just don’t know how at this point.

    1. Yeah, it’s not about getting older for me either. Most of the time, I think it boils down to me wanting to be further ahead on things than I am.

      Thanks so much for the nice comment. I’m glad you’re back to blogging too, btw.

  2. It definitely doesn’t sound pretentious to say it’s your craft! Very much understand the feeling of wanting to strengthen those writing muscles, and create content with more depth and appeal to the reader.

Leave a Reply

