Howl’s Moving Castle {Fashion Inspired by the Film}

Howl's Moving CastleI first watched Howl’s Moving Castle right after it came out on DVD. I was a fan of the book and in the middle stages of my Christian Bale crush (which is long since over). Sadly, my first time through I wasn’t impressed with the changes made to the story and I found the film boring overall. Of course, back then, I didn’t have any experience with foreign films and didn’t realize that non-American movies could move slower and be stranger than what I was used to.

This month, I decided to give Howl’s Moving Castle another chance. I’ve been trying to catch up on animation I’ve missed (whether it’s from TV like Legend of Korra or from movies from other countries), and I’ve pushed Studio Ghibli movies to the top of my list. I feel like I should love these movies because they’re beautiful and are full of cute creatures, but I just haven’t given them the chance they deserve.

So I rewatched Howl’s Moving Castle, and I was surprised just how much I loved it this time around. It is certainly different from the book by Dianne Wynne Jones, but the movie isn’t worse because of the changes it makes. The film’s story is unique and weirder than the book’s, and I kind of like that. The tone and feel of the book are the same, however, and that’s what matters most to me in an adaptation.

As always with animated films, I loved the animals Howl’s Moving Castle–particularly the little dog who reminded me a lot of Gertie.

gert-dog
Source: Tumblr

I’m definitely looking forward to working my way through Studio Ghibli’s films. My Neighbor Totoro is next on my to-watch list, but I’d gladly take recommendations for what to watch after that one. I’ve seen Ponyo, but I’ll be new to everything else.

Since the art of the film was so beautiful, I decided to make a few outfits inspired by the characters.

Fashion Inspired by Howl’s Moving CastleSophie Hatter

Calcifer
The Wizard Howl
What’s your favorite animated movie?
17 thoughts on “Howl’s Moving Castle {Fashion Inspired by the Film}

  1. These outfits are too adorable! The first time I watched Howl’s Moving Castle I wasn’t into it either but loved it when I watched it years later!

    My favorite film is definitely Spirited Away. I remember watching it in a math class when I was young. Best day ever! hahah

    ALSO don’t watch Grave of the Fireflies unless you want to cry.

  2. THIS IS WONDERFUL! I love all of the outfits ❤️ I love Studio Ghibli films. They are so beautifully made!

  3. I agree with the above comments. Spirited Away and Kikis Delivery Service are wonderful! I think you should also check out Porco Rosso as well. I was wondering, I haven’t read the book yet but watched the movie, do you recommend the book too?

  4. I am a sucker for war animation that focuses on the people affected by it so… Grave of the Fireflies. Just, you know, prepare a box of tissue or two.

    You hear people always talking about Spirited Away, and it’s for a good reason. Really enjoyable film, with excellent visuals and characters.

    I would also recommend Princess Mononoke. Great historical fantasy set in some time period in Japan, about the struggle between humans and forest gods.

  5. That was the movie that first introduced me to Studio Ghibli. My Neighbor Totoro was adorable. Be sure to add Spirited Away and The Secret World of Arrietty to your list. Studio Ghibli is just awesome, period.

Leave a Reply

