Bookish Confessions: I Am a Chronic Series Dropper

Bookish Confessions (1)

I am a Chronic Series Dropper. If I were to count up the number of book series that I’ve actually read to completion, it would definitely be under twenty and maybe even be under a dozen.

Prime Examples of Series I’ve Finished Include: Harry Potter, Twilight, The Hunger Games, Lord of the Rings (Including The Hobbit but not Silmarillion), The Time Quartet, and The Prydain Chronicles.

Mostly, they’re Children’s or YA series that I read before I finished college. After college, I’ve had much more difficulty sticking with series. (Even when it comes to books, my commitment phobia’s in hyperdrive.) Not surprisingly, I’ve had to come to terms with this–which is why I mostly read stand alone novels now.

There are reasons, though, that I don’t complete most of the series I do start nowadays. I’ve distilled those reasons down to four of my main excuses. I hope some of you can relate to them because, really, I feel like I’m getting to be overly picky in my book reading lately (and because I’m reading a series right not that I want to drop but am feeling guilty about it).

Reasons I Don’t Finish a Series

  1. The Second Book Isn’t as Good as the First ~ The most recent example of this that I can think of is the Divergent series. I loved Divergent, but once I got about seventy pages into Insurgent, I realized I was just not into the story any more. A lot of series have a second book slump (ahem, Lord of the Rings) and, while I used to be able to tolerate that, I don’t have the patience anymore to suffer through a lame second book just to get to the third which may or may not be better.
  2. I Forgot What Happened in Book One (or Two) ~ After the Hunger Games, I started about five other Dystopian series. I’ve not finished any of them because, between the time the first book came out and the second, I totally forgot all of the characters’ names and major plot points. This is the problem with reading a ton a books within a subgenre. All of the stories blend together after awhile and that presents a problem when you’re trying to finish a series.
  3. The Book Series Changes In Some Major Way ~ This happened recently with The Expanse series. I loved Leviathan Wakes, but it was a space horror story. The sequels were basically politic thrillers. I like horror but not political thrillers so I couldn’t force myself to continue on with the series. Sometimes the major change could be the exiting of major characters (See The Chronicles of Narnia) or the implosion of my ship (Twilight, back in the day) or a drastic change of scenery within the book (I couldn’t handle it when the Wheel of Time series went to the desert–too many unpronounceable new names to remember!). Yeah. Let’s just say a lot of changes tick me off when it comes to books.
  4. I Forget the Series Even Existed ~ I don’t have any idea how often this has happened to me, but it definitely has.

Are you a “Chronic Series Dropper” or do you stick with a series until the bitter end? What are some of the reasons you don’t finish a book series?

6 thoughts on “Bookish Confessions: I Am a Chronic Series Dropper

  1. i have to say that I read all the Hunger Game books, but I couldn’t get past the first book in the Divergent series either. I think it was mostly due to how close it was to the concept of the Hunger Game series. Maybe if I had spaced them out a few years apart it would have helped. I think that my first series, if you could call it that, was a series written by Jonathan Kellerman. It was about the same character throughout, but always a new set of circumstances. Would you truly call that a series if the same characters are carried throughout, or not?

    1. Yeah, that’s definitely a series. I think The Hunger Games was a lot more exciting than the Divergent series. That helped a lot with getting me through it, at least.

  2. It sometimes takes me FOREVER to read a full series. There was a YA series I read when I was younger, and it took me 3+ years to finish the whole thing.

  3. (I really need to regularly check my WordPress feeds…)

    I have quite a few series that I never finished either, which is quite a bummer since most were really good. I just never had the time to really sit and read, since I’m splitting my time between a job as a teacher in the morning, and schooling in the afternoon.

    Notable titles would be The Wheel of Time, Hyperion and Dune series – never got past the first book but I loved what I read!
    And of course I never got past Divergent either, but that’s because it just wasn’t all that interesting to me.

    Also, hahaha, I bought A Game of Thrones and A Clash of Kings. Hah. Yeh. That’s gonna take me ages to go through if I ever end up committing to the series.

Leave a Reply

