Top Ten Books With Characters Who Fall In Love

SHOP (1)

Joining up again with The Broke and the Bookish‘s Top Ten Tuesday! Check out their blog for the upcoming weekly themes and other cool stuff.

I’m not going to lie. I don’t normally read books for the romance. I ship characters like crazy in TV shows, but books rarely ever get me rooting for a couple. More often than not, romance in books actually makes me super annoyed–especially in fantasy novels and in YA (at least, in the YA books where everyone is in love with the main character for no reason whatsoever).

There are a few rare exceptions to this rule, however. Some authors are able to get me weirdly invested in the characters’ love lives, and I love it when that happens.

I thought, for something different, I’d make a list of my favorite lovey-dovey romances from books.  I scoured my shelves to find different books this time around (or ones that I don’t mention ALL the time) and picked out my Top Ten.

Top Ten Books With Characters Who Fall In Love

Source: Tumblr
Source: Tumblr

1. Howl’s Moving Castle by Diane Wynne Jones ~ Howl  and Sophie are so sweet together! When I first read this book, I didn’t love the romance aspect of this story so much, but on my last reread, I was swooning quite a bit. It’s funny how stories change for you even after you’ve read them a half a dozen times!

2. Phantom by Susan Kay ~ Talk about swoon-worthy couples. I’ve always been anti-Raoul (thanks to The Phantom of the Opera musical), and so when this book gave me a super romantic fleshing out of Erik and Christine, I fell in love with them both again.

Source: TheDateReport
Source: TheDateReport

3. After the Golden Age by Carrie Vaughn ~ This book doesn’t really focus on the love story, but it’s got a normal person/superhero romance that really works. Also, the hero where a trench coat which is always a plus.

4. Here’s Looking at You by Mhairi McFarlane ~ I just mentioned this book in my Chocolate Book Tag post, but I had to include it again in this list. I was rooting for the Elizabeth/Darcy-a-like couple in this book and it was just super sweet and romantic.

5. Me Before You by Jojo Moyes ~ I’m, truthfully, not thrilled that there’s going to be a sequel to this book because I loved this one so much. The plot might sound vaguely like something out of a Nicholas Sparks book, but I promise you it’s better! (I can attest to this because I have, in fact, read a Nicholas Sparks book or two.)

Source: Fanpop
Source: Fanpop

6. One Day by David Nicholls ~ My favorite book by one of my favorite authors! Another sappy read but another goody. Em and Dex are one of my all-time-faves in the couple department and I love the slow-burn aspect of this story even if it is a bit gimmicky.

7. These Old Shades by Georgette Heyer ~ This is my top Heyer novel to date. I completely fell for the romance. There was cross-dressing involved–which tends to love stories even better in my book (most of my favorite movies involve cross-dressing, f.y.i.).

Source: GeekyNews
Source: GeekyNews

8. Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen ~ I told myself that I could only include one Jane Austen novel on this list so I had to choose Pride and Prejudice (even though Persuasion and Emma could have made the cut too).

9. The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight by Jennifer E. Smith ~ I adore this sweet, little Rom-Com of a YA novel. I somehow don’t own it yet, but I must be putting this little gem on my wishlist now that I’ve though about it!

jane
Source: Tumblr

10. The Thinking Woman’s Guide to Real Magic by Emily Croy Barker ~ If you like Jane Eyre but wish there wasn’t some wife hidden away in the attic, this is a book book to check out. It’s mostly a fantasy book, but it’s got a nice love story on the side.

What are your favorite bookish love stories?

Readerly Geek

5 thoughts on “Top Ten Books With Characters Who Fall In Love

  1. I’m not much for romances either. They usually have to be part of a mystery/suspense/survival/etc. plot in order for me to be interested. There are a couple of romance novelists I like, though, and that’s because they have the ability to pull me in and make me care.

    Great list! And how haven’t I heard of PHANTOM? Sounds like a book I need to pick up ASAP.

  2. I love your list! I’m not a MAD romantic reader, but I do like a little bit of romance in most of my YA novels. That being said, sometimes it feels like a love interest has just been thrown into a book to tick something off a list, so it’s nice to have some novels that focus on LOVE. I have actually read a few of these and enjoyed them, but now I REALLY want to read The Thinking Woman’s Guide to Real Magic. (I love me some Jane Eyre, not so keen on Bertha though!)

    Beth x
    http://www.thequietpeople.com

  3. I was not overly impressed with “After the Golden Age” EXCEPT for the romance. I thought that was a very well crafted relationship.

    I also really appreciate the romance in Michelle Moran’s “Cleopatra’s Daughter.”

Leave a Reply

