The Chocolate Book Tag

SHOP

Ari from Comics and Cookies tagged me in The Chocolate Book Tag! I love chocolate and I love books so this tag is kinda the best of both worlds for me. I don’t know about you, but generally, if I’m curling up for the afternoon with a book, I have to have a cup of tea and some yummy chocolate nearby (usually a piece of Dove dark chocolate or a Kinder chocolate bar).

Not surprisingly, most of my answers have to do with Science Fiction or Fantasy novels. I DID throw one non-speculative fiction book in there to mix it up (and because I do really like it).

The Chocolate Book Tag 

doomsday book

1.) Dark chocolate: a book that covers a dark subject

I don’t read a lot of dark books so this one was a little tough for me. I do think Connie Willis’ Doomsday Book fits the bill though. It’s a time travel novel about an outbreak of the plague. Needless to say, a lot of people die.

If you like time travel book, you should actually try reading Willis’ entire Oxford Time Travel series. The 2nd book, To Say Nothing of the Day is hilarious, set in the Victorian Era, and just a lot of good fun.

2.) White Chocolate: Your favorite light-hearted/humorous read

Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy! I couldn’t stop laughing the first time I read Douglas Adams’ zany, space adventure. There’s a neurotic robot, the worst poetry in the universe, and the answer to the life, the universe, and everything. The rest of the books in the series don’t really hold up so well as the first, but it doesn’t matter because Hitchhiker’s Guide is such a treasure. (My favorite part from the book is Marvin singing “You’ll Never Walk Alone,” by the way.)

the-grace-of-kings

3.) Milk Chocolate: a book with a lot of hype you’re dying to read

I can’t wait to read The Grace of Kings by Ken Liu. It came out last week, and I’m still waiting for my copy to come in at the library. In the meantime, I’ve had to avoid all of the positive reviews that have been popping up. I don’t want to get spoiled! I just really want to read it!

4.) Chocolate with a Caramel Center: A book that makes you feel all gooey inside

There’s probably a lot of books I could list here, but I’m going to go with one of my more recent reads–Here’s Looking at You by Mhairi McFarlane. The story is loosely based on Pride and Prejudice, and it’s surprisingly as funny and smart as something Jane Austen would’ve written (you know this is something this Janeite wouldn’t say lightly!). It is good “Chick Lit”(ugh, I hate that term)–which means McFarlane’s book is swoon-worthy and super romantic and definitely makes you go all gooey inside with feels.

5.) Wafer free KitKat: A book that recently surprised you

Written in Red by Anne Bishop. I’ve been in the mood for Urban Fantasy lately, but I didn’t expect to adore this Urban Fantasy(ish) book nearly as much as I did. The setting was more complex than “Vampires in the City” and I got super wrapped up in the story. I’m glad this is the first book in the series because I need to find out what happens next! (I actually wrote a book review of Written in Red. It’ll go up later this week!)

leviathan-wakes

6.) Snickers: A book you are going nuts about

Syfy’s The Expanse series is premiering later this year and it looks amazing. The show’s based on one of my favorite books, Leviathan Wakes, and I definitely can’t wait to see what the universe is going to look like on the small screen. Also, one of my favorite detectives–Miller–is going to be grumbling around in the flesh–which is so cool!  I’ve been watching for a premiere date. I want to reread the book as close to the premiere as possible (which probably means starting it two weeks in advance because the book is such a hunk of pages).

7.) Hot Chocolate with Cream and Marshmallows: a book you would turn to for a comfort read

I’m going to cheat and share my top two: The Hobbit by J. R. R. Tolkien and A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle. When I’m having a rough time, I always turn to one of these two books.  (Okay, and a smattering of others, but I only wanted to cheat so much.)  They’re both books that I loved in childhood, and they just make me feels as if I’ve been handed a cup of steaming tea and wrapped up in a warm blanket.

If you’d like to do The Chocolate Book Tag, I tag you! Just answer the questions and share your love of books and all things chocolate-y too!

What is your favorite kind of chocolate?

Book Cover Images are from Goodreads and Top Image Source is http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dessert

Readerly Geek

12 thoughts on “The Chocolate Book Tag

  1. I was super tempted to go for The Hobbit for my Comfort Read- it’s always been there for me, ever since I was a little kid. Written In Red sounds really good- I’m way into Urban Fantasy and it sounds like a good read!

      1. Hmmm… Probably American Gods because I’m boring and predictable. There’s also a YA series called Wicca which was kind of Urban Fantasy which was alright.

      2. I still haven’t read American Gods! I love Neil Gaiman’s work but it’s one of his books I just haven’t picked up yet. I need to put it on a TBR list!

Leave a Reply

