Ten Books on My To-Be-Read List

Ten Books On MY To-Be-Read List

(I’m joining in on The Broke and the Bookish‘s Top Ten Tuesday, yet again! If you’d like to join in too, check out their website for more info.)

In the past, I haven’t really paid much attention to my TBR list/pile. I’ve tried piling books conspicuously by my bed, but I usually ignore them in favor of library books or items on my shelf. I’ve also kept a shelf on Goodreads, but I have about 448 books on there now so, obviously, I’m not very serious about making a dent in that.

Starting this year, I’m trying to limit my library holds and TBR list to books I actually intend to read vs. books that are new and/or have pretty covers. (This probably means I should tackle deleting stuff from my Goodreads shelf but ugh!)

Today’s “Top Ten” list is made up of books that I actually seriously intend to read. Mostly, they’re Fantasy novels, but there’s some YA and Graphic Novels thrown in too because I’m at least partially realistic about my reading practices.

Ten Books on My To-Be-Read List

tbrlist1

1. I Am Princess X by Cherie Priest ~ I like Cherie Priest’s Steampunk series, and I think it’s very cool she’s written a book about webcomics and BFFs. It doesn’t come out until May, but I’m going to keep checking my library’s website to see when they pre-order it!

2. The Game of Love and Death by Martha Brockerbrough ~ The plot of Brockerbrough’s YA novel reminds me a lot of The Night Circus. Basically, the main characters’ love story is part of an elaborate game orchestrated by Love and Death. It sounds very cool, especially since it’s about an interracial duo in the 1930’s.

3. The Invasion of the Tearling by Erika Johansen ~ The Queen of the Tearling was one of the books that got me back into reading Epic Fantasy last year. I liked that it was more of a political thriller than a marathon of battles, and I’m very excited for this sequel that’s coming out in June.

4. Knight’s Shadow by Sebastien de Castell ~ Speaking of sequels, the follow-up to Traitor’s Blade will be available in June too. I adored the first book with it’s swashbuckling and humor (see my mini-review of it) and I can’t wait to read the further adventures of Greatcoats.

5. The Grace of Kings by Ken Liu ~ The plot summary had me at it’s description of adventures, silk-draped airships, and best friends. Ken Liu’s debut comes out next week and I already have a copy requested at the library!

tbrlist2

 6. A Crown of Cold Silver by Alex Marshall ~ While it may be a little too warlike for my taste, a fantasy about a legendary female general sounded interesting enough for me to put it on hold. There’s also mention of humor in the review blurbs, so there’s that too.

7. The Secret History of Wonder Woman by Jill Lepore ~ I’ve checked this book out of the library twice and I still haven’t read it! I want to, though. I’ve heard great things about this non-fiction book and I definitely need to give it a chance because it sounds just like something I’d love.

8. Ms. Marvel Vol. 2 ~ I don’t read Ms. Marvel in single issues so I’m super pleased that the 2nd volume of her comic is finally out. I’m especially excited because I know there’s a dog introduced in this volume, and that, of course makes me very happy.

9. Lumberjanes Vol.1 ~ I found out about Lumberjanes too late to jump on the single issue bandwagon. Tomorrow, the 1st volume comes out in graphic novel form and I may just have to break down and buy it because my library doesn’t have it on order yet. I don’t really want to wait any longer to read this series.

10. William Shakespeare’s The Phantom Menace by Ian Doescher ~ I love the William Shakespeare’s Star Wars series, and–even though I’m not a fan of The Phantom Menace–I’m looking forward to reading this book. Actually, I’m going to FINALLY rewatch Episode I so I can get full enjoyment out of the book.

What books are topping your TBR list this month?

All Book Cover Images are from Goodreads.com.

7 thoughts on “Ten Books on My To-Be-Read List

Leave a Reply

