Heroic Tails: Six Novels About Mice

EST. 1987 (3)

In my blog post about books series that made me into a reader, I mentioned my love of mice books. After middle school, I went through a phase of loving all books having to do with the furry rodents. I’m well aware that it was a weird sort of preoccupation. While other teens and tweens were reading Harry Potter or books about abused children (which were strangely popular at the time), I was reading books about talking mice with swords.

To make it weirder, I liked drawing mice too. (I even have a story that I wrote and illustrated in high school about a mouse!) Yeah. Can you guess how easy it was making friends when I had journals with pictures of mice in fantasy gear in them?

At this point in my life, I do have found memories of my “Mouse Stage.” I don’t think I talked about it too much when I was younger because it seemed odder to mention than my obsession with Pippin from Lord of the Rings or my crushes on Sirius Black and Remus Lupin.

Thanks to that time, though, I can now share a list of some mouse-related winners with you!

Six Novels (and/or Series) About Mice

mice1. Mrs. Frisby and the Rats of NIHM by Robert C. O’Brien ~ Have you heard about the new adaptation? I’d be more excited about it if they weren’t planning on adapting the entire series. I loved the first book, but the other two in the series ruined my ship. Because, yes, I do ship even mice together sometimes.

2. The Redwall Series by Brian Jacques ~ Brian Jacques’ fantasy series had a diverse assortment of rodents and other creatures in it longs run, but I remember the mice stories best. My favorites books were always Redwall, Martin the Warrior, and Mariel of Redwall, and from what I remember, any of those novels would make good starting points into the series. (On a side note: Watch the TV series! I loved it when I was younger. It followed the books pretty closely and had cute animated mice!)

3. Amazing Maurice and His Educated Rodents by Terry Pratchett ~ This book was my first introduction to Discworld, and if you’ve never read any books by Terry Pratchett, it’s as good a place as any to start. While it’s for a younger crowd than most of his books, it’s definitely still funny and clever and bonus! It’s filled will furry animals!

4. The Deptford Mice Series by Robin Jarvis ~ I found these mice fantasy books while browsing the YA section at my library. They’re basically a good mouse vs. evil mouse story set in sewers. I feel bad that I can’t remember much about the plot now, but I do think I still have some of the pictures I drew of the characters during boring sermons at church. Again, I know there was some sort of mice shipping thing I had with this story, but I don’t think it ended well.

5. The Rescuers by Margery Sharp ~ You’ve probably seen the Disney movies, but have you read the books? There are nine books in the series (I think I only have read the first two), but it’s fun to read these children’s books with the movies in mind. I never got to the book with Joanna. (Or, at least, I hope there was a book with Joanna. Rescuer’s Down Under is one of my favorite Disney movies.)

6. Tale of Despereaux by Kate DiCamillo ~ Who wouldn’t love a little mouse with gigantic ears? This is my most recent mouse read, and it was definitely cute (it had nice illustration!). I have not seen the movie, but I may need to add it to my to-watch list now. All this mice talk  is making me want to get back into that usual subgenre of fantasy.

What is your favorite book about animals (mice or otherwise)?

Leave a Reply

