Comic Bento Unboxing

Comic Bento Unboxing

This post includes Affiliate Links. Comic Bento sent me one of their subscription boxes in exchange for a review.

I don’t like surprises. . .unless they’re coming in the mail. I love ordering “Mystery Shirts” from those t-shirt-a-day websites and getting an unexpected postcard from someone at Postcrossing. Unsurprisingly, I’ve been intrigued about the rise of subscription boxes for awhile, but I haven’t settled down and subscribed to one yet. There are too many choices and, unfortunately, I don’t have a lot of money to spread around on all the ones that boast of toys, shirts, and other sorts of swag.

Books subscription boxes are something else entirely, but most are way out of my price range. Except Comic Bento. While technically, not a “book” subscription service, they do send mystery graphic novels to you in the mail each month. For a comic lover who has very few graphic novels of her own, this box is a fantastic idea.  

If you’ve never heard of Comic Bento before, it’s basically this: A subscription box for comic lovers. Their boxes run from $25 a month for a recurring monthly subscription to $22.50 a month for a six month plan (I’m including shipping costs to make things easier). Every month, you get four or five graphic novels based on different themes. I got February’s box which had the theme “Feminine Mystique” (which I was super thrilled about since I love lady comics). March’s theme was “Cloak and Dagger” and some of the other boxes have had comedy and horror-related themes.

My Comic Bento arrived earlier this week, and I’ve been super excited to share with everyone what I received!

comic-bento-box

The Contents!

  • Miss Fury Vol. 1 ($19.99) ~ I’ve never heard of Miss Fury before, but this volume apparently contains time travel, robots, and a super heroine kicking Nazi butt. Sounds intriguing. From looking at the art, I’m not sure it’s entirely my thing (there’s quite a bit of fan service going on), but I’ll definitely give it a chance.
  •  Shutter Vol. 1 ($9.99) ~ If you’ve been reading this blog for a couple of months, you might have already seen my glowing review of Shutter.  It’s a weird and wonderful story and I highly recommend it. While I already own a copy of “Wanderlost,” I’m still kind of excited to have a back-up copy in case I want to loan it out to someone or even–just maybe–include it as part of a giveaway.
  • Ms. Marvel Vol. 1 ($15.99) ~ This is absolutely my favorite thing in February’s Comic Bento box. I LOVE Ms. Marvel, but I don’t own a copy of the graphic novel. I’ve been wanting to add this to my collection and I’m so excited to finally have it!
  • Buffy the Vampire Slayer “The Dust Waltz” ($9.99) ~ Buffy the Vampire Slayer is 100% the reason why I’m here right now writing about comics. The first comics I ever read were Buffy-related and/or written by Joss Whedon. I caught the bug from those comics and never looked back. I haven’t read “The Dust Waltz” but it seems to take place during either the 1st or 2nd season of the show. The art’s not quite as good as it is in Seasons 8-10 of the comics, but it’ll be fun all the same to dive back into the world of the Buffster.

Retail Value ~ $55.96

comic-from-comic-bentoOpinions, Opinions

For the price, Comic Bento’s a very good deal. You’re basically getting four graphic novels for the price of two. I wasn’t sure what sort of quality the graphic novels would be, but seeing as I’ve read two of them already and know they are fabulous, the contents are pretty high standard (if I do say so myself).

I’m excited to read own and/or read everything in my “Feminine Mystique” box. I really don’t mind having a second copy of Shutter because I like sharing the love around with my favorite comics and graphic novels. While I don’t try to peddle my favorite books onto people, comics are one of the things I don’t feel weird raving about (not enough people appreciate their awesomeness yet!).

While I would be reticent about signing up for a 3 or 6 month plan myself, that’s just because I like very specific subsets of comics (Weird Horror, Weird Scifi, Weird Adventure, Lady Superheroes, Spies, and Tie-In Comics). I’m the type of person who would sign up for a month here or there to get the graphic novels I really wanted (which I tell myself would be much more financially responsible of me). Of course, March’s theme was “Cloak and Dagger,” and I kinda wish I had signed up for it now because SPIES!

If you have more than one comic reader in the house or like a wide variety of comics, I definitely see how the 3+ monthly plan could easily work for you. Also, I think this could be a great gift for someone who loves comics and is always looking for something new to try (hint-hint, family).

Next month’s theme is “Anthologies” (great for those looking to get introduced to some new stories and types of comics). If you’d like to sign up for it, go to Comic Bento’s website and sign up for one of their plans. I’d definitely recommend trying it.

Do you have a favorite subscription box?

One thought on “Comic Bento Unboxing

Leave a Reply

