Six Ways to Re-Purpose Clothes for Spring

Six Ways

I don’t know about you, but there’s something about this harsh, winter weather that just makes me want to hole up on the couch with a craft project and my Roku. I mean, tomorrow, it’s supposed to be a low of -13 degrees.  Burr. I just want to stay home where there’s coffee and yarn and The 100 on Netflix.

As always, I’ve been crocheting a lot lately. I have been wanting to try some other projects though. Since the weather is so bad now, I thought it might be a good time to re-purpose some old clothes for when Spring comes. I found six nifty DIYs that seem simple enough to try out on old tees or sweaters. I’ve always liked making my style my own and these all seem like good ways to give a normal outfit a bit of personality.

Six Ways to Re-Purpose Clothes for Spring

  • Pom-Pom Sweater ~ This is a DIY for adding pom-poms to a sweaters sleeves! I love the look of it, and it’s seems easy to do. The only down-side I foresee to this project is that pets might want to gnaw on you. (Or that might only be my dog. He likes destroying pom-poms.)
  • No-Sew Pocket T-Shirt ~ No-sew is always a plus for me because my sewing machine skills aren’t really up to par. I do love the look of the kitty fabric the original blogger used for the pocket, but I’d be more tempted to use something Superhero or Disney Princess-related.
  • Embellished Fingerless Gloves ~ I love to wear fingerless gloves when it is too warm for mittens and yet too cold to go without anything (too cold for me is like 60 degrees). The look with the bows speaks to me, but there’s a lot of inspiration here for styling up a pair of cheap/old gloves.
  • Cross Stitch Heart Sweater ~ Cross stitch is one of those things that I’m fascinated by. I haven’t quite figured it out yet, but that doesn’t stop me from being impressed with how neat it looks. I love how this cross stitched heart styles up a cheap tee. I’d wear it if I had the guts to try and make it.
  • DIY Peter Pan Collar ~ Around where I live, Peter Pan collars haven’t really become “a thing.” I love the way they look, but if I want to wear them, I’m going to have to make them. There’s proper sewing involved in this project, but it looks like it would be relatively easy all the same.
  • DIY Lace Insert Tee ~ I love the look of the lace moon, but would it be taking it too far to do a dinosaur-shaped insert instead? Again, there’s no sewing–which is awesome because this looks like a super simple DIY then.

Have you ever re-purposed your old clothes?

Image Source: Death to the Stock Photo

One thought on “Six Ways to Re-Purpose Clothes for Spring

Leave a Reply

