Netflix Vs. Hulu Plus

Netflixvs.Hulu (3)

Over Christmas, I finally signed up for free trials of both Hulu Plus and Netflix. For someone who’s always relied on streaming Hulu on the computer or grabbing DVDs up at the local library, it’s been an interesting experience having so much at my fingertips.

After about a month on each service, I’ve drawn my conclusions as to which one I like better. I thought I’d make a handy little pro and con list and tell you my conclusions–in case you’re wondering which service might suit you better.

Hulu Plus

Conclusion

For me, Hulu Plus is a better fit. While it’s nice to have movies and full seasons on hand with Netflix, I was disappointed that there was very little available that I couldn’t easily find at my local library. Granted, I live in an area with an excellent library system (plus I work at the library which adds to ease of picking items up).

I had expected there to be newer movies and shows, but a lot of what I’d been hoping to stream just wasn’t available. Maybe it’s because I watch a lot of TV, but there wasn’t much that could be categorized as both something I hadn’t seen and something I was interested in watching.

Hulu Plus, on the other hand, had several shows that I’ve been wanting to watch but weren’t available on Hulu.com. I caught up on Selfie (when it wasn’t available for free) and started Manhattan. There’s also some British shows that I’ll be very happy to work through when I have the time.

With Hulu Plus, it’s also nice not to have to worry about watching every episode of my favorite shows live. I can easily catch up on my Network shows a day after they air instead of having to wait a week for them to be available to stream online.

The main downside of Hulu Plus, of course, is the commercials, but I’m willing to deal with that to get access to their amazing selection of shows. Another thing: I would like Hulu Plus to have more movies available like Netflix, but I’m more of a TV nerd than a film buff so lack of movies is not a huge deal-breaker. It’s just an annoyance.

If you’re picking a streaming service, I’d definitely still recommend trying both and seeing what fits you best. Netflix is great though if you don’t have access to a good, local library and aren’t a prolific TV viewer (also, if you’re a movie lover). Hulu Plus is better if you like immediate access to your favorite shows and need a wide variety of television to choose from.

What is the best TV show you’ve discovered through a streaming service?

6 thoughts on “Netflix Vs. Hulu Plus

  1. I’ve been wanting to try out Hulu. I only have Netflix and use a few free tv online sources, but I heard some good things for Hulu. I’m not a big fan of commercials but it’s still a cheaper method than purchasing cable services! Thanks for sharing this 🙂

    -Lori
    http://girlhero.net

  2. I prefer Netflix. Hulu Plus has some great shows, but if you’re internet savvy you can find the shows elsewhere for free, without commercials. I had a Plus trial before and was really surprised that paying members still watch the same amount of commercials! However I don’t watch many current TV shows so I guess it all really depends on where your interests are! Great post!

  3. Right now I’ve got Netflix, and I’m pretty happy with it since I have cable for the shows currently airing. However, I’ve wondered about Hulu Plus for the access to current TV shows, because I’m getting sick of paying crazy amounts of money for cable. I think I’d be able to justify Netflix and Hulu if we dumped cable. This is a great pros and cons list. Thanks for writing it!

    1. You’re welcome. Yeah, I’ve never had cable so it’s nice to be able to watch some shows on Hulu Plus that I’ve missed. They’re are a few on Netflix too though that I’m liking.

Leave a Reply

