Songs On Repeat ~ January

What I'm Watching (2)

I’m that person you see rocking out to music in the car next to you. It’s weird, but something about blasting my ancient car’s radio makes me act like I’m on stage with a bunch of adoring fans. This only happens in the car, of course. When I’m by myself. (Yes, I know you other drivers can see me, but I assiduously ignore that fact.)

Lately, there have been five songs, in particular, that I can’t stop playing. I belt them out in my car, listen to them while cooking, and stream them in the background while I’m working on the computer.

They’re earworms. But in a good way.

Songs on Repeat

“Shut Up and Dance With Me” by Walk the Moon ~ I love the 80’s beat and the absolute sing-a-bility of this song. My local indie station plays “Shut Up” every once in a great while, but I frequently flip to the channel every time I’m driving just in case it’s playing. I adore the music video too–it’s too cute and funny.

“Night Changes” by One Direction ~ I’m not a Directioner, but I do love some of their songs. It takes me back to when I was a wee bit obsessed with the Backstreet Boys and NSYNC in Middle School. “Night Changes” has to be one of my favorites though. It’s actually very pretty in a way that a lot of modern pop ballads aren’t.

“Fool’s Gold” by Fitz and the Tantrums ~ I love the beat of this song. It’s 80’s-esque in the same way that “Shut Up and Dance” is, and I absolutely have to blast it every time it comes on. I’ve never really listened to Fitz and the Tantrums, but I’m making a point of picking up their CDs next time I’m at the library to remedy that.

“Geronimo” by Sheppard ~ Wow, yet another song with a great beat. Imagine that. This song is a fun to sing a long to, and, as a Doctor Who fan, how can I not love a tune called “Geronimo?”

“I Want You Back” by The Jackson 5 ~ The Awesome Mix Vol. 1 is so good, isn’t it? My favorite song on Guardian’s of the Galaxy‘s soundtrack, though, is this one. If I could dance at all, I’d totally be rocking some 60’s inspired moves to the Jackson 5.  I settle for kinda stepping back and forth like a reject backup singer instead.

What songs can’t you get enough of?

5 thoughts on “Songs On Repeat ~ January

  1. Really enjoyed this post, Melissa. That Fitz and the Tantrums song is def 80s. It’s fun! Thanks for the recommendation! 🙂
    Jackson 5 make me so happy. I’m currently in a Blame it on the Boogie and The Love You Save groove.

Leave a Reply

