Readerly Geek’s Top 10 Most Anticipated Movies of 2015

TIME & SPACE

It’s been awhile since I’ve truly been excited about new movies being released. In 2011, I went to see a bunch of (surprisingly) crappy movies in the theater and that just ruined the experience for me. Thankfully, last year’s selection of films started to cure me of my New Movie Ennui, and this year, I’m actually really looking forward to going to see movies on the big screen again.

I actually had to narrow down my list (rather than stretch it) to get my Top 10 Most Anticipated Movies. Read on to find out what I’m excited to see in 2015!

10. Mission Impossible V ~ I wouldn’t be excited for this EXCEPT for the fact that I absolutely loved Jeremy Renner’s character in the forth movie. I think we all remember this scene. . .

renner-gif
*Gif Not Mine*

The only downside of a new Mission Impossible movie, of course, is that it still stars Tom Cruise. While I’ve enjoyed the franchise (with the exception of MI:II), I do say it’s time to dump Ethan Hunt and make the film all about some new spy. I guess I’ll have to hope that dream comes true in MI:VI.

9. Star Wars: The Force Awakens ~ I wish the new Star Wars movie could be higher on my list, but J. J. Abrams being the director just sort of dashes most of my hopes and dreams for this one. I used to be a huge fan of J. J. Abrams. Of course, that was before all the TV shows he put into motion crashed and burned in their later seasons. (And Star Trek Into Darkness.) I want to like this movie, but I have higher hopes for the stand-alone movies and the later flicks that aren’t directed by J. J..

8. Tomorrowland ~ Britt Robertson was the one highlight in Under the Dome (and then they killed her off). I’m really looking forward to seeing her take the lead in a big film. The teaser trailer was pretty nifty, and I’m not the sort to be dismissive of a movie based on a section of a Disney theme park–even if that section’s biggest draw (Space Mountain) happened to be closed the one time I went to Disney World.

7. Far from the Madding Crowd ~ I’m game for any film based on English Literature, but the cast and look of this adaptation is marvelous. I hope my local Indie theater will pick this one up because I definitely love seeing these sorts of movies play out on the big screen.

6. Love, Rosie  ~ I’ve been waiting for this movie to come out in the US since last year. (I read the book in anticipation in June! June!) I’m a dork about romances between best friends so this rom com is right up my alley. Sam Claflin is adorable in the previews, and, based on what I’ve already seen him in, I’m 100% okay with him becoming the leading man in a bunch of movies from here on out.

5. The DUFF ~ How could I resist a (what appears to be) a throwback to the teen movies of my youth? I tried to read the book, but it wasn’t my thing. The movie, however, looks different enough to hook me. Also, Robbie Amell’s in it–which is just fine with me because he and his abs definitely aren’t in The Flash enough.

4. Me Before You ~ I have a bit of a secret passion for sad, romantic books (I can be a sap at times). One Day‘s one of my favorite books of all time, and Me Before You is also up on that list. I absolutely loved the casting of Sam Claflin as Will (Tom Mison would have been my first choice, but Claflin definitely works too). I’m not so sure about Emilia Clarke as Lou, but I’ll withhold judgement. It’s got to be better than Anne Hathaway as Em in One Day at the very least.

3. Terminator Genisys ~ Robot movies are also a secret passion of mine. I don’t know why I love robots (probably because they’re cool), but I’m up for any movie about them that I can find. Genisys looks amazing in spite of it’s awful title, and while I wasn’t sure about Emilia Clarke in Me Before You, I think she looks awesome as Sarah Conner. Just watching the teaser again makes me want to go back and rewatch the Sarah Conner Chronicles. Sarah’s such a cool character. I’m glad she’s in the movie franchise again.

2. Cinderella ~ Maleficent was a surprise for me last year. I didn’t expect to like it at all, but I genuinely enjoyed it. I love fairy tale movies as a rule, and the newest incarnation of “Cinderella” definitely feels promising. I love the costuming already, and I’m so happy that they’re keeping the magic of the animated movie. Before the preview, I was worried the film would do more of an Ever After sort of take on “Cinderella.” I’m happy to be proven wrong.

1. Jurassic World ~ Jurassic Park is probably one of my Top 10 Favorite Movies of All Time (I’ll have to make a proper list someday, but I’m 95% sure it will make the cut). The trailer for Jurassic World looks just as wonderful as I hoped it would, and I cannot wait to see Chris Pratt work with a team of raptors. I love a good “Monsters Terrorizing People” story and Jurassic World appears to fit that bill perfectly. I only hope it can have as much mayhem as Godzilla did last year.  I was literally giggling with joy throughout that movie.

What movie are you most looking forward to in the new year?

12 thoughts on “Readerly Geek’s Top 10 Most Anticipated Movies of 2015

  1. I’m excited for the mission impossible movie and the tomorrowland movie. The trailer for tomorrowland really caught my attention when it played in the movie previews at the theater.

    Jessica
    the.pyreflies.org

Leave a Reply

