Book Review: Hello Kitty Crochet

COFFEE (1)Over Christmas, I took a little time off from working on my Etsy shop and knitting gifts to play around with crocheting Hello Kitty amigurumi. It was so nice to take a break and crochet for fun again. It’s been too long. Too, too long.

hello-kitty-crochet-bookI’ve been super excited about the release of Mei Li Lee’s Hello Kitty Crochet since it came out in September, but I just now got my hands on it. My high expectations for this book were not disappointed.

Not surprisingly, the book is lovely–with a cute, pink cover and tons of beautiful photos.There are twenty-four different patterns. Most of them follow the same basic shapes so, once you get Lee’s style down, it’s pretty easy to move from character to character.hello-kitty-crochetI chose to crochet Pochacco first because I love doggies. The instructions were very straightforward and easy to follow. Sometimes, amigurumi pattern books can be overly complicated, but a lot of the patterns in this book would be easy for a beginning crocheter to follow.hello-kitty-crochet-2I wanted to make Purin for my second project, but I didn’t have the right yarn on hand (and since it was Christmas day, I couldn’t run out to the yarn store) so I picked Hello Kitty instead. To get her looking just right, I flattened her head a bit and squeezed her yarn-y eyes into a more slitted shape. She came out adorably after I fixed her up! I particularly love her little bow and pointy ears.

Overall, I adored this book. I, of course, did make some alterations as I went along. I don’t crochet with tiny hooks so I used an E to make Pochacco and a F to make Hello Kitty. I also used all yarn for their faces instead of safety eyes, brads, etc.. In spite of my fiddling, my dolls came out looking very close to the originals (so if you choose to make some changes don’t be afraid it will look bad).

These patterns would be great for beginning crocheters looking to expand into amigurumi, but I’d also recommend them to veterans looking for fun stash-busters. I definitely want to keep working my way through Hello Kitty Crochet. Pekkle’s especially high on my to-do list.

Do you have a favorite Hello Kitty character?

Leave a Reply

