Top Ten Books I Read In 2014

for awesome

I’ve joined in on another installment of The Broke and the Bookish‘s Top Ten Tuesday! This week’s theme is “Top Ten Books I Read in 2014.” While I’m not totally comfortable with listing my Top Ten before the year is up, I’m going to do it anyway. (I’ll try not to read any really good books before the end of the year so this can stay official, haha.)

Let’s get on with it then!

Top Ten Books I Read in 2014!

us-arc

1. Us by David Nicholls ~ Little surprise that this is my favorite book of the year. David Nicholls is one of my favorite authors, and Us certainly didn’t disappoint. It was just an all around great story about a family, and I really loved seeing how Nicholls has progressed as a writer since One Day. (Here’s my review!)

2. Traitor’s Blade by Sebastien de Castell ~ Seriously, this is the best swashbuckler I’ve read since The Princess Bride. I loved that Traitor’s Blade combined a fun adventure story with interesting world-building and characters. I definitely cannot wait for the next book in the series. (Here’s my review!)

3. After the Golden Age by Carrie Vaughn ~ Superheroes! Accountants! Mindreaders in trench coats! After the Golden Age is such a wonderful send-up to superhero comics. I loved all of the characters (but especially Dr. Mentis), and the sequel was almost as good.

phantom-book-review

4. Phantom by Susan Kay ~ I didn’t expect to love Phantom as much as I did, but I really got invested in Erik’s story and his fascinating world. This is one of those books that got added to my permanent collection this year.(Here’s my review!)

5. Villette by Charlotte Bronte ~ I fell in love with Villette, and between it and Middlemarch, I finally remembered how much I loved reading literature. (Here’s my review!)

6. Middlemarch by George Eliot ~ Speaking of Middlemarch. . .I’d never read George Eliot before, but Middlemarch was wonderful enough to get me wanting to read more of her work. Her presentation of characters reminded me so much of Jane Austen’s that it just endeared me to the book all the more. (Here’s my review!)

7. Creativity Inc. by Ed. Catmull ~ This is the only non-fiction book on my list. It’s about Pixar, and I just loved reading about their business and how they emphasize creativity in the workplace.

8. Queen of Tearling by Erika  Johansen ~ One of the books that got me back into reading epic fantasy! I enjoyed this as a first book in a series, and I look forward to seeing where the story goes next.

these-old-shades

9. These Old Shades by Georgette Heyer ~ Definitely my favorite Georgette Heyer to date. I absolutely loved the interactions between all of the characters and the romance was totally believable. I had so much fun reading it!

10. Assassin’s Apprentice by Robin Hobb ~ More fantasy novels! This was really the year of me getting back into fantasy, and Robin Hobb’s Assassin’s Apprentice did nothing to deter me from my rediscovered love of the genre. (Here’s my review!)

What are your Top Ten Books of the Year?

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Books I Read In 2014

  1. I haven’t read US yet, but One Day made my list! I feel like I was really late to the party on that one having read it only recently, but I did love it and can’t wait to grab a copy of Us! I just got Tearling and am excited about reading that one. Nice to see that it made your favorites list (:

  2. I’d have to think about it a bit to pick 10, but it would include Cress by Marissa Meyer, Jackaby by Will Ritter, Everything Leads to You by Nina LaCour, The Kiss of Deception by Mary E. Pearson, The Queen of the Tearling, Red Rising by Pierce Brown and A Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia Gray. (Seven’s a good start!)

    I think you’d definitely enjoy The Kiss of Deception if you liked The Queen of the Tearling.

Leave a Reply

