Favorite Things #3

1

Sorry, I’ve been a bit lax in posting the last week and a half. I just started a new job and, with Christmas and all, I’ve been a bit stressed out (especially thanks to my Etsy and the remaining Christmas knitting I have to get done). I do plan on getting a few posts up next week, but I’m going to be taking the week of Christmas and the week of New Years off because I need to take a little break so I can work out my blogging goals and plans for the next year.

Like I said, I’ve been keeping busy knitting and crocheting the last couple of weeks. My arm isn’t getting tired yet, but truthfully, I’ll be happy when I can take a break and leisurely make a few things for myself. I’ve been eyeing some hat, scarf, and mitten patterns that I definitely want to try. (And also these leg warmers!)

Have any of you been working on handmade Christmas gifts? About 90% of mine are homemade this year thanks to a root canal that left me even more broke than normal. I like making gifts for the most part–it’s just the question of if my family gets bored of all my handmade things. At least, this year, their gifts are knitted so that’s a change-up from crochet or baked goods!

Anyways, in-between all the Christmas prep, I did find some new “Favorite Things” lately. Read on to check them out!

My Favorite Things

chocolate-chip-snowball-cookies

  • Chocolate Chip Snowball Cookies ~ I usually start baking Christmas cookies right after Thanksgiving, but this year, I started late on my cookie making. The first recipe I did try was a new one for me, and it’s absolutely delicious! It’s basically a Russian Tea Cake with chocolate chips in it. So good!
  • Ms. Marvel V. 1: No Normal ~ I FINALLY read Ms. Marvel, and I loved it! I’m not a huge Marvel fan (I basically only like the new Black Widow comics and Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.), but I really enjoyed Kamala and her story. The story arc over the first volume was great, and I definitely want to keep reading and find out more about her family, friends, and that big dog I see on the cover of the later issues.
  • Arrow 2.5 ~ Speaking of comics, I picked up the second issue of Arrow 2.5 last week (a little late), and I’m totally invested in the story now. The first issue was a little blah (with the exception of the Olicity moment), but the second one definitely kicked everything into motion. Digitally, the series is like on #8, but since I don’t have an e-reader or tablet, I’m reading it in print. The third issue comes out next week, and I can’t wait to see what happens next.
  • Emily Owens M. D. on Netflix ~ So, I finally got Netflix and discovered one of my favorite (cancelled) shows is available on there. I’ve already watched two episodes, and it’s just as good as I remembered. I love Mamie Gummer as Emily, and now, after watching Arrow, I think I like her even more than I did the first time I watched it because she reminds me so much of Felicity Smoak (this may be influenced by her having a crush on Smallville‘s Green Arrow but probably only in part). If you like shows like Hart of Dixie or Gilmore Girls, you should definitely check Emily Owens out.

So, what have you been loving this week?

7 thoughts on “Favorite Things #3

  1. I’m gonna be picking up Ms Marvel soon! Even though I just bought Wonder Woman + Batwoman 5 and they’re still shrink wrapped.

    That snowball cookies look good. I’m gonna be trying some cooking and baking, so that’s an option for me to try as well. 😀

      1. I was collecting Gail Simone’s run, but couldn’t get them all without having to pay exorbitant shipping prices from online sellers. You should check out the New 52 version. It’s pretty easy to get into, but has yet to feel like it’s an epic series.

Leave a Reply

