The Christmas Tag

The Christmas

Becky–from Milk Bubble Tea–created a “The Christmas Tag,” and  I thought today was the perfect day to join in on it because we’ve officially entered Christmas season, right? No more holidays in-between. Christmas music beginning on all of the radio stations. Gifts being bought in earnest now.

I’ve answered Becky’s questions about my favorite Christmas things and I’d love to see your answers too! I realize I don’t often share stuff about my person life on Readerly Geek so this could be a way for us to get to know each other a bit better.

So, without further ado, The Christmas Tag. . .

1. What is your favorite Christmas Movie/s? 

My favorite Christmas movie of all time is The Muppet’s Christmas Carol. I could probably recite the dialogue and sing all of the songs from memory at this point. Elf‘s my second favorite. I’m not a Will Ferrell fan, but I still adore that movie.

2. Do you open your presents on Christmas Eve or Christmas morning?

I’ve always opened my presents on Christmas morning. When I was a kid, my mom and dad rarely wrapped my presents early so I’d get up and have to wait–impatiently–until they were all under the tree.

3. Do you have a favorite Christmas memory?

I don’t have a specific memory that stands out from the rest. I’ve loved quiet Christmas mornings, playing games with family, watching bad Made-For-TV Christmas movies with my mom, and wrapping presents with the fire roaring and my dogs sleeping around me.

4. Favorite Festive Food?

Cookies! I’m a cookie baker, and I make sure there’s a wide variety to sample. My grandma used to make these wonderful cream wafers and they were my favorite. Since she doesn’t bake anymore (and, for some reason, my batches taste like paste), I have to make do with sugar cookies and Reese’s peanut butter cookies.

5. Favorite Christmas gift?

As a kid, I loved a cool sled my dad picked out for me. It had brakes which I could never manage to figure out (leading to an incident with a snowboarder), but I loved it all the same. As a teenager/adult, my favorite gift’s been tickets to a Bon Jovi concert. I’m not a real concert-going-type-person (I’ve only ever been to Bon Jovi and Taylor Swift concerts), but it was a lot of fun to go out to Atlantic City to see them perform.

6. Favorite Christmas scent?

I love the smell of gingerbread. I don’t bake gingerbread often, but I do have this delicious gingerbread tea that I love to drink all winter long. It smells lovely but not quite a good as the real thing.

7. Do you have any Christmas Eve traditions?

My mom’s side of the family comes over to celebrate. We always have an insane amount of food, presents, and a White Elephant gift exchange. Some years, after the party, we go to a Christmas Eve Service at church, but that depends how tired we are.

8. What tops your tree?
A rickety, light-up star topped our family tree for years. Unfortunately, a couple of years ago that broke. We haven’t had to replace it though because we got a new, fake tree and it’s too tall for anything to go on top. It’s a lovely tree, but it’s a bit sad not to have a topper.

9. As a kid what was the one (crazy, wild, extravagant) gift you always asked for but never received?
I never liked extravagant gifts. As a kid, I preferred to get a bunch of stuffed animals, books, and movies rather than just one big thing.

10. What’s the best part about Christmas for you?
Relaxing on Christmas morning with my family. We always make coffee, read through the Christmas story, and watch The Muppet’s Christmas Carol while chowing on cookies and food left over from our Christmas Eve party.

Those are my answers. What do you love best about Christmastime?

2 thoughts on “The Christmas Tag

  1. Awee that is so sad you had to wait for the presents to be put under the tree 😦 we have always opened them on Christmas Eve because someone always ends up working Christmas Day 😦

    Jessica
    the.pyreflies.org

Leave a Reply

