Favorites Things #1

1

Welcome to my first ever “Favorite Things” post! For awhile now, I’ve been wanting to write about some TV shows, books, and other things I’ve been enjoying, but I just haven’t been able to form long, cohesive blog posts about them. I thought a series of “Favorite Things” posts would allow me to gush about and share some awesome things with you–without me having to write proper reviews–because sometimes I just want to let you all know about an awesome flavor of tea or a Youtube video just because!

So here they are. . .

My Favorite Things

gotham-penguins-umbrella
Source: Geek Girl Authority
  • Gotham “Penguin’s Umbrella” ~ This week’s episode was a turning point for me. I’ve loved this show ever since the second episode (I didn’t like the first, but I’m so, so glad I gave it a second chance), but this week, I realized that I was actually falling a bit in love with the characters. Maybe it was devil-may-care Jim Gordon carrying around a shotgun or maybe it was Harvey showing his true colors, but I just adored both of them this episode. Before this week I watched the show just for the wonderful, cheesy goodness of it all, but now, I find I care about the characters too. Gotham‘s finally getting into it’s swing (a lot thanks to Ben Edlund’s “Spirit of the Goat” episode and then this one too), and I cannot wait to see where it goes from here.

 

  • I Ship It ~ I’ve been vaguely hearing about this short film for awhile now, but this week, I finally watched it. Oh my gosh, it is so adorable and sweet! I’m a huge Harry Potter nerd from way back so, of course, I loved a film centered around a Wizard Rock band. The tone, storytelling, and acting were just perfect too. If you’re a Harry Potter fan and haven’t seen this, seriously check it out! I’m already looking forward to watching it again.

these-old-shades

  • These Old Shades by Georgette Heyer ~This is the first Georgette Heyer book I’ve read that I absolutely can’t wait to read again. Justin and Leonie were too perfect, and the story was just a glorious romp. Sadly, I made the mistake of reading the sequel first. I wasn’t enamored with the lead couple in Devil’s Cub, but now, I absolutely need to read it again to revisit all of the Alastairs and their friends.

That’s what I’ve been enjoying. What are you loving lately?

6 thoughts on “Favorites Things #1

  1. This is such a lovely idea! I totally get how you feel about writing reviews, you may have inspired me to do something similar to this! Also i can’t wait to watch the HP vid (:

Leave a Reply

