Ten Places Books Have Made Me Want To Visit

top-ten

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week, we were prompted to choose ten places–fictional or real–that books have made us want to visit. Unfortunately, since I tend to read darker fiction, I had a bit of difficulty choosing ten places that I wouldn’t be too terrified to travel to. I decided to divide my list into five fictional and five real places then because I couldn’t think of ten fictional places I’d want to visit.

Read on for the list!

Five Fictional Places

Source: Travel Pennies
Source: Travel Pennies

1. The Shire from The Hobbit ~ I’d love to wander around Hobbiton and visit with all the locals. Certainly, there’d be tons of yummy food to eat and cozy chairs to sit and relax in while I chatted with a friendly Hobbit. The Shire seems like such a lovely, peaceful place to visit. The worst thing you would have to worry about interrupting your vacation there would be Merry and Pippin playing a prank on you.

2. Howl’s Moving Castle from Book of the Same Name ~ The castle seems like such a makeshift, wacky place to visit. It would be fun to try out all of the doors and visit the cities you can reach by them. I’d like to have a talk with Calcifer and maybe read through a couple of Howl’s magic books for a lark. As long as Howl doesn’t start oozing slime, it would be quite pleasant to hang out there.

Source: Popwatch
Source: Popwatch

3. Hogsmeade from the Harry Potter Series ~ I’d rather not pay a visit to Hogwarts because (a) youths and (b) it would be too hard to leave. Hogsmeade, however, would be such a neat place to wander around in and shop. I’d have to go to Honeydukes and the bookshop. And, as I’ve never tried Butterbeer, the Three Broomsticks would be a must-see. Unlike Hogwarts, I’m certain that by the end a trip to Hogsmeade I’d be ready to leave–mostly because I’m not as terribly enthusiastic shopper.

4. Pemberley from Pride and Prejudice ~ If you want to visit a stately home, why not go all out and visit Mr. Darcy’s residence? I’ve heard the grounds are impressive and, if I’m fortunate, I might ever get to set eyes on the home’s handsome (and rich) owner!

5. Thornfield Hall from Jane Eyre ~ There are times when you just want to go someplace remote–a place where you won’t be bothered by anyone. Thornfield Hall is a quiet retreat, I’m sure, and I doubt anyone would bother me much if I just wanted to sit around reading or to take a walk around the grounds.  There’s a governess there who I’m sure would be excellent company and, so long as no one leaves a rogue candle burning, I think Thornfield would be very relaxing.

Five Real Places

Source: The Coolist
Source: The Coolist

6. The Bookshops of Buenos Aires (Inspired by All Roads Lead to Austen) ~ Any places filled with books is like a home away from home to me. I’d love to wander through all the bookstores of Buenos Aires, but I especially want to check out the one residing in a renovated theater. The only issue I see with this trip would be that I’d have to be careful not to buy TOO many books or else I might have trouble bringing the all home.

7. The Bakeries of Paris (Various Parisan Food Memoirs) ~ I have a bit of a partiality to baked goods. They may leave me feeling sick and jittery a lot of the time, but, oh dear, the ickiness is worth it when it comes after eating a chocolate croissant. To that end, I would love to try out all of the wonderful bakeries and chocolateries in Paris. And each a lot of chocolate croissants. I love chocolate croissants.

8. Pixar Studios (Inspired by Creativity Inc.) ~ Pixar may not offer tours, but I’d certainly love to wander around the studio and see glimpses of works-in-progress. Truthfully, I’d be very happy just to look in offices and see how they’re decorated and shadow employees for the day. Pixar seems like such a fascinating place to work. I’d love to see everyone in action.

9. The Globe Theatre (Inspired by All Things Shakespeare) ~ I’d love to see a production of Much Ado About Nothing or Twelfth Night on the Globe stage. It would be fascinating to see a Shakespearean production in a more traditional setting.

Source: Travel Cuts
Source: Travel Cuts

10. The Wizarding World of Harry Potter ~ Since the world of Harry Potter doesn’t really exist, I will just have to go to the next best thing.

So, there’s my Top Ten. What are some places books have made you want to visit?

5 thoughts on “Ten Places Books Have Made Me Want To Visit

  1. I love this list! I think I’d put Harry Potter related places on mine, plus I’d like to visit Jurassic Park. I mean, it probably wouldn’t end well but…LOL

Leave a Reply

