Jim Henson’s The Storyteller: Witches #1

the-storytellers-comic-edit

I loved Jim Henson’s creations growing up. I watched Sesame Street as a child (and again during high school because I was a special kind of teenager who obsessed over PBS children’s shows) and the Muppet movies and Labyrinth too. I’ve never seen his The Storyteller, but I couldn’t resisted picking up a comic based off of it all the same.

Before, I talked about the comic though, I want to bring your attention to the gorgeous new novelizations of Labyrinth, Dark Crystal, and The Storyteller. I saw them at Barnes and Noble, and I fell absolutely in love. The covers might not be jaw dropping, but the insides look like gorgeously illustrated children’s books.

Source: TheNerdist.com
Source: TheNerdist.com

I love this new trend of rereleasing these sorts of classic fairy stories with beautiful illustrations (there’s also a very lovely The Princess Bride edition that came out last year), and I’m having a really hard time telling myself that I don’t need them all.

Okay. Enough of that gushing. Back to The Storyteller comic.

This week’s issue was entitled “The Magic Swan Goose and the Lord of the Forest.” It was written and illustrated by S. M. Vidaurri. The story was a lovely, little eco-friendly fairy tale. In it, there’s a princess, a witch, and a tree with magical properties. It’s very reminiscent of Grimm’s fairy tales with it’s dream-like quality and virtuous female lead. The comic’s meant for young audiences, but like most things associated with Jim Henson, I think the tale will appeal to those of any age with a fondness for fairy tales. I know I enjoyed the sweet story and the characters.

The art, however, is what made this comic for me. The drawings were gorgeous and would not have seemed out of place in a Victorian book of fairy tales. I loved the detail on every page and the elegant way the story flowed from image to image. I’m not usually sold by artwork alone, but before picking this comic off the shelf, I had little interest in it. The art, however, swept me away as soon as I saw it.

As a huge lover of fairy tales, I can’t help but recommend this comic. It’s so, so beautiful. I’m happy I bought it because it’s a story that will remain on my shelves for a very long time.

This is the first comic in a series of four. The next issue is entitled “The Snow Witch,” and I look forward to adding it to my collection too.

Have you seen The Storyteller show? Is this something I need to check out immediately?

2 thoughts on “Jim Henson’s The Storyteller: Witches #1

  1. If you are a Henson fan AND a fairytale fan, you’ll probably like The Storyteller. I watched it back when it originally aired (yup, I’m old), and it scared the crap out of me as a kid. I haven’t revisited it as an adult, but it was on Netflix at one point.

    1. I’ll have to check it out. Jim Henson’s stuff never bother me much as a kid, but I showed my cousins Labyrinth when they were little and they freaked out! I think I gave them nightmares.

Leave a Reply

