Top Ten Books On My Fall To-Be-Read List

top-ten

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. I thought I’d join in this week because the topic is “Fall To-Be-Read List.” I’ve got a lot of books I’m really, really looking forward to read this fall, and I wanted to gush about them a bit with all of you.

Without further ado, here’s my. . .

Top Ten Books On My Fall To-Be-Read List

Source: smashinginterviews.com
Source: smashinginterviews.com

1. As You Wish by Cary Elwes: The Princess Bride is one of my favorite books of all time, and I just love the film adaptation too. I cannot wait to read Cary Elwes behind-the-scenes look at the movie. I bet it’s going to be a lot of fun.

Source: cuddlebuggery.com
Source: cuddlebuggery.com

2. Clariel by Garth Nix: In high school, my best friend introduced me to Sabriel. I’m still in love with the series after all these years so I very excited there’s a new book coming out. (And isn’t that cover gorgeous? It even has a dragon!)

Source: Goodreads
Source: Goodreads

3. Us by David Nicholls: David Nicholls is one of my all-time favorite authors. I’ve been waiting for this book for a very, very long time. I hope it’s as good as One Day. I need more lovely reads like that on my shelf.

Source: Goodreads
Source: Goodreads

4. Maplecroft by Cherie Priest: I liked Priest’s steampunk series so, of course, when I found out she wrote a fantasy novel about Lizzie Borden I requested it at the library straightaway. I expect some excellent creepiness to be had during the reading of this book.

the-woods
Source: All-Comic.com

5. The Woods V. 1 by James Tynion IV: All I needed to hear was that this comic is perfect for people who loved Morning Glories. Sold me right there!

Source:PasteMagazine.com
Source: PasteMagazine.com

6. The Wake by Scott Snyder: I love a good horror comic, and this one sounds pretty interesting. I mean, I think it has something to do with merpeople so. . . (I had wanted to try it in single issues, but I was too nervous to go to the comic shop way back when this started up.)

Source: charlienholmberg.com
Source: charlienholmberg.com

7. The Paper Magician by Charlie N. Holmberg: It’s the cover that sold me on this book. And the word “Magician.”

Source: NPR.org
Source: NPR.org

8. Traitor’s Blade by Sebastien De Castell: This sounds like an excellent swashbuckler. Of course, it was NPR’s review that really got me interested. They said it wasn’t “grimdark.” I’m a bit tired of all the grim and depressing fantasy so I’m looking forward to something a bit more fun. I’ve been waiting rather impatiently for it to come in for me that the library.

Source: NYPost.com
Source: NYPost.com

9. The Queen of Tearling by Erika Johansen: I’ve heard good things about this Scifi/Fantasy novel.  AND, on top of that, it’s already set to be a movie with Emma Watson as the lead. Color me intrigued.

Source: Goodreads
Source: Goodreads

10. Rooms by Lauren Oliver: I’ve enjoyed Oliver’s writing before, and this just sounds like a great horror novel to read while curled up in a blanket with a nice, relaxing cup of tea. I love haunted house stories. They’re such a throwback to the great gothic novels of yore.

What books are on your “To-Be-Read” list this Fall?

13 thoughts on “Top Ten Books On My Fall To-Be-Read List

  1. I’ve read a few of these! Queen of the Tearling, The Paper Magician, and, well, #1 of The Woods… ALL good in their own rights. I’m also really happy that The Paper Magician is part of a series, because it’s a short book but a really interesting concept!

    1. I just read The Paper Magician and I would so like to know more about the other types of magic. The second book is called The Glass Magician so maybe the world will widen a bit with the next in the series.

  2. Ooh…a lot of interesting sounding books here. I think this stop is making my TBR longer…. hehe. Clairel is on my generic TBR but I need to reread the past books again first. Hope you have a great fall!
    Here’s My TTT

  3. Oooh, these look good! I’ve heard amazing things about “As You Wish.” I need to make some headway with my vast to be read stack…but, I’m just not sure what I want to read next.

Leave a Reply

