My Geeky Confessions

my-geeky-confessions

A little while ago, Mariko of GamerWife wrote a post on her geeky confessions. I thought I’d join in on the fun and share some of my own. While I try not to be embarrassed about my likes/dislikes/opinions, there are some things that I just prefer to keep quite about so I don’t receive a lecture from other well-meaning fans.

Try to be understanding. 🙂

   My Geeky Confessions

prometheus-michael-fassbender-1
Source: Fangoria

I Love “Bad” Prequels/Sequels

Seriously, my love for movies like Prometheus, Terminator Salvation, and, even to some extent, the Star Wars prequels knows no bounds. People are always ragging on these movies, but I enjoy them in spite of their faults. Prometheus, especially, is one of my favorite movies to watch, and I don’t care a bit about plot holes. For me, it’s all about Elizabeth Shaw kicking alien butt (and Michael Fassbender and Idris Elba looking pretty, of course).

Lord-of-the-Rings-Blu-Ray
Source: Metal Arcade

I Don’t Read Epic Fantasy (Including Game of Thrones)

In junior high and high school, pretty much all the fantasy books I read fell into the “Epic Fantasy” subgenre. I read Lord of the Rings a ton of times, the Wheel of Time series, and Terry Brooks’ stuff too. I burnt out on it all by the time I reached college. Now, I can’t stomach anything with a heavy dose of sword and sorcery and a high page count. I tried to read Game of Thrones, but I couldn’t do it (even though I do like some of George R. R. Martin’s other books).

captain-america
Source: wadebearden.com

I Don’t Care for the Marvel Cinematic Universe

People go gaga for The Avengers, Captain America, and the rest, but I just can’t get into them. While I like some of the comics (Guardians of the Galaxy and Black Widow, for instance), I just don’t care for the loud, huge action scenes of the movies and the fact that you have to see all of the films to know what’s going on.

Rose-Tyler

 I Like Rose Tyler

I haven’t come across many others who actually like Rose, but she’s been my second favorite companion of New Who (Donna being my top fave). I shipped her and the Doctor hardcore during their seasons together, and truthfully, it was a combination of their romance and David Tennant’s charm that got me hooked on Who in the first place.

Do you have any geeky confessions?

9 thoughts on “My Geeky Confessions

  1. I like Rose, even if I’m not really sure why the Doctor was so gaga for her. My top companion is probably still Martha (yup, I’m one of *those* people) and I hear you on the epic fantasy thing. The only real way I’ve been able to keep up with the GoT books is because Rick reads them to me before bed.

    1. I like Martha. I think the only reason I don’t like her as much as Rose or Donna is because her season was just not my favorite. The Doctor was so mopey with her–which, obviously, was not her fault.

  2. I love Rose Tyler!! We can definitely agree on that one. As for the others? I’m also not that hugely into epic fantasies anymore. Fly that flag, woman. Fly that flag.

Leave a Reply

