Weekly Review + Links

into-the-storm
Source: wegotthiscovered.com

Last week, I went to see Into the Storm with my mom. We’re both disaster movie fans so we spent the entire movie infected with a sort of giddy zeal about all the tornadoes (and, of course, Richard Armitage).

Into the Storm is basically a mash-up between Twister and Night of the Twisters, and it was great. Well, not great in the sense that it was a Oscar winning type of movie, but it was great in the “This movie was thoroughly enjoyable and worth the price of admission” type great. If you like storm movies or are intrigued by the idea of Richard Armitage playing a “Hot Dad,” you’ll almost certainly love Into the Storm.

Also, for those who like actor-spotting, it also stars Sarah from Prison Break and the boy who played Peter Pan in the 2003 movie.

Now, onto some Links of the Week! 

There’s been a lot written about Robin Williams and depression this week, and, as a sufferer of depression, I feel like this Slate article puts everything in a very clear and concise way. I want to believe that this tragedy will increase understanding and compassion towards those dealing with mental illness, but if my Facebook feed is any indication, I’m not so sure that will be the case.

In lighter news, There’s a Robin Hood musical in development at NBC. 

Supernatural‘s Uncle Bobby has been cast in the second season of The New Adventures of Peter and Wendy.

Classic Alice just got even better this week with the introduction of Ewan McBay. (I know I’m definitely a little bit in love with him.)

And, if you’re watching Under the Dome and haven’t been reading Tor.com’s recaps, you’re seriously missing out. They’re spot on and hilarious.

Oh, and do I have some favorite crochet patterns of the week? Yes, I do.

Twinkie Chan has a free baby Groot amigurumi pattern. I haven’t seen the Guardians of the Galaxy movie yet, but I am a fan of the comics so this little tree is definitely going in my queue.

Anyone a fan of Farscape? I also discovered a Rygel pattern. I’ve been wanting to make JanaGeek’s Moira pattern for awhile now, but this guy’s pretty cute too.

So, do you have a favorite disaster movie? Or, better yet, a favorite Richard Armitage role? 

Leave a Reply

