What I’m Watching

miranda-tv

Sorry it’s been awhile since my last post. June and July were rough months for me, and I needed to take a bit of a break to recover.

I am back though! Of course, for now, my posting schedule might still be a bit wonky as I get back into things. (I will try to be as regular as possible.)

I hope you’ve all been doing well. I’ve been crocheting and knitting a lot lately–which means that I’ve had some time to catch up on shows. Mostly recently, I’ve been enjoying two shows in particular. . .

What I’m Watching:

Miranda

mirand=1

I first discovered Miranda on PBS. A few years ago, one of my local channels was playing the first two seasons on Saturday nights, and I totally fell in love with Miranda and all of her crazy friends (especially Tilly–Tilly’s my favorite). I’ve been waiting ever since to catch up on season three and FINALLY it’s available for free on Hulu. YAY!

If you’ve never heard of Miranda, here’s the run-down: Miranda’s an eccentric thirty-something who owns a joke shop, has a VERY quirky circle of family and friends, and can’t keep a boyfriend to save her life.

If you remember the show Super Fun Night of last year, Miranda is very similar conceptually, but it is executed way better. Instead of jeering at the quirkiness of the characters, Miranda embraces their weirdness.

(If you’re socially awkward and/or nerdy, you’ll see a lot of yourself in Miranda and her friends. Trust me.)

Unfortunately, as of yesterday, I’ve now watched through all of series three, and with series four still on the horizon, I’m going to have to wait impatiently to see how this last season’s cliffhanger ends.

(Is anyone else tired of cliffhanger endings and long hiatuses?)

Still, I absolutely love Miranda, and if you enjoy slapstick/silly comedies (like Happy Endings or The IT Crowd), I’m sure you’ll love it too.

Classic Alice

 

The New Adventures of Peter and Wendy is over for now, but thankfully, Classic Alice is back!

This time, Alice is living her life as inspired by Pygmalion. . .which basically means she’s looking for someone she can Henry Higgins into shape.

So far, just the season prequels and one new episode are up, but this is a great time to jump on the Classic Alice bandwagon if you haven’t already. It’s one of my favorite web series, and I highly, highly recommend it.

Have you been watching anything fun lately? If you have, please leave some recommendations in the comments. I’m always in need of new shows!

8 thoughts on “What I’m Watching

  1. Ha! I just watched this holiday episode of Miranda a couple of days ago. Good call on comparing it to Super Fun Night – man, I love all the gals on SFN & wish it was a better showcase for them.

    Please tell me you’re watching Call the Midwife with Miranda Hart as Chummy…all the feels!

      1. It’s not super graphic (but if childbirth really squicks you out, probably best to avoid). You can always fast forward, Miranda’s storyline is so worth it! Maybe someone has done a Chummy supercut on YouTube or something.

      2. I’ll try it and see how it goes. And, I’ve just got to say, I love the word “squicks.” How have I not heard it before? (Here I go filing it under “Words to Use in the Near Future.”)

Leave a Reply

