Once Upon a Pattern: Henry Mills Scarf

henry-mills-scarf

If you follow me on Twitter, you’ll have probably heard of my latest knitting project. It literally took me all of June to finish, but here it is now–all cozy and beautiful. I don’t mind saying that I’m super proud of it. I learned to purl for this scarf and am so happy that I got a hold of the concept quickly.  The scarf really wasn’t hard to make, but for a person who’s just recently gotten back into knitting, it was time consuming.

If you don’t know, Henry Mills (the inspiration for this scarf) is one of the characters from Once Upon a Time. I’ve had my issues with OUAT, but last season, for some reason, I finally fell absolutely in love with the show (actually, I think it had a lot to do with Regina and Robin Hood).

Since I like to show my love via crafts, I just had to knit Henry’s signature scarf.

Unfortunately, I couldn’t find any actual patterns for his scarf online so I was forced to adapt an already existing pattern to fit my intentions. I wrote up the pattern I half created to share so that other people won’t have to do the same digging around that I did.

I adapted this from a Wainscott Ribbed Scarf Pattern.

Enjoy!

Henry Mills Inspired Scarf

Supplies

1 Skien Lion Brand Wool-Ease Yarn: Red Ranch

2 Skiens Lion Brand Wool-Ease Yarn: Oxford Grey

Size 7 Knitting Needles

Pattern:

With Grey, Cast On 45 Stitches.

Row 1: Knit 3, Purl 3 until end of row.

Row 2: Purl 3, Knit 3 until end of row.

You will be repeating these two rows for the remainder of the scarf.  To get the correct size stripes of Grey and Red, you will alternate between 26 rows of grey and 8 rows of red.  End on grey once the scarf reaches approximately 71 inches long (or desired length). Bind off and weave in ends.

henry-mills

Have fun knitting, fellow Oncers!

5 thoughts on “Once Upon a Pattern: Henry Mills Scarf

  1. I love the scarf, it’s so cute! I Just started watching Once Upon A Time and it’s kind of slow… I’m only on episode 4 of season 1 so I’m hoping it’ll get more exciting soon!! (HOPING!!)

Leave a Reply

