Beginner’s Amigurumi ~ Part One: What is Amigurumi?

beginners-amigurumi-1

In high school, I taught myself how to crochet amigurumi. Back then, there was no YouTube to help me figure things out and the How-To blog revolution hadn’t taken over yet.  Basically, I just printed out a pattern and made a go of it.

Over the years, I’ve picked up new things and learned more more about the craft. I still do some things my own way (no invisible decrease for me), but I’ve acquired some helpful knowledge too.

Since I’m one of those people who prefer to know things from the get-go, I thought it might be helpful to share some of my knowledge with others who might be thinking of picking up the craft but are worried about what all it might entail. (Basically, the knowledge I wish I had starting out.)

I love making amigurumi, and I want others to love making it too.

This will be the first of a series of posts. Part One (a.k.a. this post right here) will be about what amigurumi is and what you can do with it. Part Two will be about the tools you need to get started. Part Three will concern crochet stitches, and Part Four will be a round-up of some great beginner’s patterns.

Ready to get started?

Okay, amigurumi is basically this: A crocheted or knitted plush toy.

beginners-amigurumi-2

The term is Japanese, and it is a part of Japan’s kawaii culture (more can be found about how it incorporates with that in this “History of Amigurumi” article).

Amigurumi can be cutesy or realistic or really anything.  There’s not much you can’t do once you start crocheting or knitting these toys. I mean, there are amis so small they can fit on your finger tip and ones so large that they could barely fit in your car. They can be animals, people, places, or things, and they can be incredibly detailed or very, very simple.

Basically, amigurumi’s are very easily tailored to your preferences as a maker.

Personally, I like making simplistic and cutesy amis that are inspired by my favorite fictional characters. Since I don’t have the patience for a great degree of detail, I stick with rounded shapes and minimalist features. There are others who prefer to make their toys with more detail and difficulty, but it’s really all about what you like.

So, have you ever made an amigurumi? Or, perhaps if you’ve never made one, is there a person/place/thing that you would like to try crocheting in the near future?

7 thoughts on “Beginner’s Amigurumi ~ Part One: What is Amigurumi?

  1. I’ve given away most of the amigurumis that I’ve made, but that’s okay because I know they went to good homes! 🙂 I look forward to reading more of these!

Leave a Reply

