Etsy Love ~ Jane Austen is My Homegirl

I first read Jane Austen in Junior High. My introduction to her had been the 1995 adaptation of Emma, and I fell so in love with that movie I simply had to read the book.  I’ve been reading and rereading Jane Austen ever since. She’s my absolute favorite literary author, and I adore pretty much everything that has to do with her (except modern day adaptations of Sense and Sensibility–they just don’t work).

For this month’s Etsy Love, I put together a collection of some of my favorite Austen-related items. As a huge Janeite, I’m seriously considering getting a few of these items (I got an Etsy giftcard for my birthday!). They’re just so classy and pretty!

etsy-love-jane-austen-is-my-homegirl

Book Headband / Jane Austen Scarf / Pemberley Rose CandlePride and Prejudice Blue Peacock Clutch / “I Randomly Quote Jane Austen” NecklaceJane Austen Wall Hanging

What was your introduction to Jane Austen? Do you have a favorite Jane Austen book or film adaptation?

4 thoughts on “Etsy Love ~ Jane Austen is My Homegirl

  1. I LOVE Jane Austen! I first read Sense and Sensibility in High School, but I didn’t really respond to Jane Austen until I was about 20 and saw “Pride and Prejudice and Zombies” and decided to read the original first. I had fallen in love with that book and I read it more than any other book I’ve owned. As far as adaptions go, I really like the “Lizzie Bennet Diaries” on YouTube, Clueless, and Bridget Jones’ Diary. The Masterpiece classics will always be pretty much perfect too.

    Great collection! I think I need to go hunting for some Jane Austen inspired goodies myself! That book purse is really cute and inspiring! 🙂

    1. I love the Lizzie Bennet Diaries too and Clueless. I’ve always thought modern adaptations are just so much fun. I don’t think I’ve actually watched Bridget Jones’ Diary all the way through though. I need to get on that.

  2. I just found a Jane Austen themed mobile game called Stride & Prejudice! My intro to Austen was the 1995 Pride & Prejudice mini-series, but as for favourite books it’s really a toss up between that and Sense & Sensibility.

Leave a Reply

