Craft Round-Up ~ May Edition

hannibal-lecter-craft

I haven’t done a craft round-up yet on this blog so I thought it was about time I shared some of what I’ve been working on lately.

This month has been kinda busy on the Etsy front. I’ve just had my one year anniversary of being open (WOOHOO!), and I’ve been trying to find ways of growing my shop in Year Two. Β My amigurumi and accessories are currently in two shops–Pure Delite Cupcakes in Ohio and Brave New World Comics in California, and my most popular amigurumi are Hannibal Lecter and The Arrow. (I suppose it’s finale season that gets people in the mood to get a little doll to make them smile.)

arrow-amigurumi-520

I’ve also been trying my hand at knitting again this month. I learned to knit in high school, but no one ever taught me to read patterns so I was always sort of stuck at making scarfs. Thankfully, there is Youtube now so I can watch videos to learn new things instead of relying on books (I’m horrible at figuring out diagrams) and people around me.

My first project was a Scotty hat (inspired by Simon Pegg’s in J. J.’s Star Trek). I’m very, very proud of how it turned out (even if the tip is a bit pointy).

scotty-hat-2

Thanks to Kelly from Apockylypse for giving me the heads up about this pattern. It was really fun (if a tad time consuming) to make.

This past week, I went on vacation to North Carolina. On the long drive there, I made “Timothy the T-Rex” by Bluephone Studios.

t-rex-amigurumi

I love dinosaurs (I *may* have mentioned this before) so I wanted to try crocheting one. My little T-Rex came out adorably–if A LOT bigger than I expected. Β Next time, I want to make a Godzilla version (I plan on crocheting it in a darker green and adding spikes down it’s back).

I’ve also been trying to keep up with prep for this year’s holiday season. Last year, I was crocheting like mad all through November and December so this year I want to be prepared.

santa-yodas

I’ve made a handful of Santa Yodas so far and a couple of Santa Yoda ornaments. I wanted to be further along with my Christmas stash by now, but I was (happily) kept busy with crocheting for my consignment opportunities. Still, in June, I’ll just have to make time to get more of these little ones done. I’m hoping my shop will get on some “Christmas Gift Round-Ups” this winter, and I want to be prepared for a lot of sales just in case that actually happens.

What have you been working on this month? If you’ve written a blog post about it, feel free to share in the comments or, if you’ve not written about it, you can tweet me a picture at my Twitter handle (@zombiesweaters) and I’ll take a look. I love seeing what others are working on.

7 thoughts on “Craft Round-Up ~ May Edition

  1. That little dinosaur is sooo cute! I can’t wait to see the Godzilla version. I finally got back to knitting last night with a super-easy slipper pattern, but I made them too small to start. 😦 Here’s hoping I can get them finished before the weekend it over.

    1. I never thought to try knitted slippers. I figured they’d be too difficult. I’m going to attempt a scarf next, but I’m going to have to learn how to purl first.

  2. These are adorable! πŸ™‚ I especially love the dinosaur.

    I’ve been wanting to learn to do amigurumi. I’m a knitter (more or less), but I’ve taught myself crochet. I tried to do an amigurumi doll, just to get some experience with it, and the stitches were so tight that my hand hurt after about an hour (and I hadn’t gotten very far). Is that normal, and I’ll just get stronger as I keep going? Or am I doing it wrong? Also, do you have a Ravelry page I can follow?

    1. I don’t thing you’re doing it wrong. When dealing with small items, I think it’s just the way that you have to hold them that makes your hands hurt. There’s not any way to do it differently (you can stretch out your hands or massage them to help though). Your hands will get more accustomed to it after a while, but at a certain point, they’ll still get achey. What sort of amigurumi are you working on, by the way?

      And my Ravelry profile is here: http://www.ravelry.com/people/melsthewhovian. Feel free to add me as a friend. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

