Top Five ~ Web Series

top-five-web-series

As you can *probably* tell, I’m a nerd about television. Lately, though, I’ve also been getting into some web series. I love that they’re short and therefore perfect for watching while I’m eating lunch or need a quick break from working on a project.

I, truthfully, never thought amazing stories could be told in mere minutes at a time, but I’m finding that it is possible when there are great writers, directors, and actors collaborating on these shows.

Here are my top five favorite web series. . .

Emma Approved

Emma is my favorite Jane Austen novel so, obviously, I’m adoring Pemberley Digital’s Emma Approved. The cast is wonderful, and the way they’re updating the story is so smart. As much as I loved The Lizzie Bennet Diaries, I’m finding that I love Emma Approved even more.  It’s so good that it’s actually a tad difficult to make it through the hiatus.

The Lizzie Bennet Diaries

LBD was actually my first introduction to the world of web series. I had watched vlogs before, but I’d never gotten hooked on an actually web show before this one. I’ve always loved Jane Austen adaptations, and The Lizzie Bennet Diaries (based on Pride and Prejudice) is one of the best modernizations of a Austen novel I’ve seen.

The Guild

I’m a big fan of Felicia Day, but, for some reason, I hadn’t watched her show, The Guild, until earlier this year. It’s about an eccentric group of gamers and their misadventures. Even though I’m not a gamer, I enjoyed the show A LOT. It was funny, sweet, and full of socially awkward people like myself.

Classic Alice

Thanks to the Emma Approved hiatus, I’ve been searching high and low for new web series to watch. During my search, I discovered the fantastic Classic Alice. There are only six episodes so far (along with a few extra videos), but this show has gotten me hooked. It’s about a college student who’s trying to expand her horizons by living out the plots of books (the first season is based on Crime and Punishment). I’ve never fallen so hard for a web series so quickly, but Classic Alice is so well acted and written that I blasted through season one and am now impatiently waiting season two.

The New Adventures of Peter and Wendy

The New Adventures of Peter and Wendy is another Emma Approved hiatus find. It’s a modern day adaptation of Peter Pan (which is pretty obvious by the name), and it’s so cute and funny! I’m very thankful that this series, at least, isn’t over or on a break. I can’t wait to see where it all goes.

I’m always in need of new webseries recommendations so, please tell me, what are some of your favorites?

9 thoughts on “Top Five ~ Web Series

    1. I’ve watched one episode of Jules and Monty. I haven’t gone back to it mainly because I’m not a huge fan of Romeo and Juliet (I prefer Shakespeare’s comedies). Do you think it’s worth watching in spite of that?

      1. I personally loved it! I think its really unique because they integrated a lot of the actual play script into the dialogue which I thought was really cool, the acting was well done in my opinion and I liked their interpretation of events in modern day! (Because although it is Romeo&Juliet its not exactly the same, but yet hold the same themes.) As well as this, the additional behind the scenes videos were pretty entertaining. If you have free time I would definitely give it a second chance! 🙂

  1. Great list…(full disclosure) I just started marketing for JTS.TV – you may want to check out some of the web series they have available. As I get up and running, I’ve been loving Acting Dead, Asset, and Red Sleep. I’m more of an action person than drama. Hope you enjoy them.

Leave a Reply

